April Showers

May 5, 2008 at 4:59 pm 2 comments

Seeds I started

It rained!!  Finally!  April was a very dry and hot month up until the last weekend.  And while it may have been pouring kittens and puppies outside, a nicely organized and supplied potting shed was at hand.  As such I got several seeds started on April 28th, including two varieties (‘Polar Bear’ and ‘Granny’s Bouquet’) of zinnias for my cutting garden, a mix of cherry tomatoes, a mix of heirloom tomatoes, lemon cucumbers, round zucchini, and some chamomile for my tea garden.  

rainy window and seed trays

I know it’s okay to direct sow the cucumbers and zucchini, but thought I’d try starting them in the greenhouse to get a headstart on these summer crops.  Frankly, I’m not wild about growing either of them in this particular garden since they take up so much space (I do like eating them though). But if I get them producing early enough, I’m hoping they’ll finish in plenty of time to pull out and make space for some of the fall crops I’m aiming to grow.  

Greenhous

It was nice to finally get some stuff on my bench in the greenhouse.  Since these few trays took up residence there, I’ve almost filled up the rest of the bench with plant material I scavenged from around the area, more trays of seeds (another post on those later), some herbs bought during a trip to the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens last week, and transplants I got from the farm (it’s nice to have connections).  Now I’m just really antsy to see these seeds start germinating!  

Trays in greenhous

And since it was rainy outside, I also took the opportunity to take a few artsy-fartsy photos of the stuff in the potting shed.  Not all were that great (awfully poor lighting in the rain in there), but I like these two.  Makes gardening look a little less messy, ya know?  

labels

Markers

Entry filed under: In The Garden. Tags: , .

Weed Happy Just Born!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eggsonsunday  |  May 6, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Wow, what a great greenhouse! My husband and I are itching for the day when we can have some seed-starting space like that! Just started my cukes inside last week — I’ve never done it before, but I’m hoping it will give them the jump start you’re hoping for, too. –Amy

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  May 7, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Amy – Let me know how your cukes do inside…mine just popped their tiny heads up last night and I was happy to see them since a few of my other crops didn’t germinate as expected. 😦 But tiny cukes are here! 🙂

    Oh, and the greenhouse is not “mine”, so don’t be too too jealous. It’s a shared communal space for the horticulture program I’m in. But still, it’s an awfully nice luxury. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


