Just Born!

May 8, 2008 at 11:23 am 4 comments

Tomatoe seedling

Aw, they’re so cute!  Look at my little babies!  All the seeds I put in trays last Monday have germinated, much to my relief. 

I tacked on the “much to my relief” part there because I had a few casualties in the “directly sown department” out in the garden.  Both my radishes and my sugar snap peas seemed to have failed in that 80+ degree arid weather we’ve been having here in southeastern Pennsylvania.   I knew it was a long shot for the peas in particular, but I had thought the radishes would make a go of it.  Another culprit for them might have been the clay soil turning rock hard as it baked in the sun, keeping the little leaves from poking their heads out. 

Zinnia seedlings

But enough about the what-might-have-beens and more about these little cuties.  Now that they have germinated, I’ll be watching closely for their true leaves to appear (the ones that come after their initial set of leaves, sorta like baby teeth).  Once that happens, I’ll be thinning out any extras that are crowding the trays and then start hardening them off in about another two or three weeks, depending on each crop.

Of all the little thrills and victories in the garden, nothing quite beats seeing the seedlings come up!  I’m now dreaming of arrangements of chartreuse green “Envy” zinnias and the beautiful blue salvia I just bought from the nursery.  Sigh….  

wagon of plants

That trip to the nursery was quite fun in-and-of-itself.  There were little wagons to pull around that I got to fill with all manner of perennials, annuals, and biennials.  My favorite find was a new herb (to me) called stevia that I am in love with now.  Can’t wait to get back in the kitchen and start making some sweet dishes with it.  By the way, I swear there’ll be a new recipe up on here sometime soon!  Thanks for being understanding about the little lull.

How are your gardens doing this spring?  Is everyone as dry as we are here?  There’s been only an inch of rain in the last six-seven weeks.  Now’s a great time to think about hunting out more native plants for your gardens since native varieties are often much more drought tolerant than those species that have been brought in from elsewhere. 

Nursery shot

 

 

 

Entry filed under: In The Garden. Tags: , .

April Showers Green Goodness

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  May 8, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Our weather has been very wet here in Virginia this spring.

    At least the frost didn’t kill my lilac blooms this year. They were last year and I so missed the smell of lilac. This year we have lilac smell abundant.

    Our radish is doing well but I didn’t plant snap peas this year.

    Congrats on your plant children.

    Reply
  • 2. Christine  |  May 8, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Be careful what you wish for — there’s a flood warning for tonight and tomorrow!

    So far all I’ve got is a pot of strawberry plants and two windowboxes full of young lettuce plants, but this weekend it’s on to herbs and tomatoes. I’ve definitely had to keep up with the watering, but I’ve vowed to be better about it than most years. So far, so good!

    Reply
  • 3. Julia  |  May 9, 2008 at 9:38 am

    I’m looking forward to hearing about how you use stevia. I saw a little plant of stevia at the farmers market and thought about planting some, but was doubtful about how much of a good substitute it is for sugar.

    Reply
  • 4. Jimi  |  May 10, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    We finally got our rain here in Philadelphia, hope you didn’t lose anything with the amount. Stevia is wonderful, good luck with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


