Rolling With It

May 14, 2008 at 12:49 pm 6 comments

Red lentils with chives and goat cheese

I’m learning a very valuable life lesson these days.  Change, for the better or for the worse, is strangely easier to deal with in larger quantities. I’ve already mentioned the big change I made recently in careers. If I’d had my druthers, that change would have been more than enough for me for a year or so.  But following close behind it, much to my initial dread, was another big change.  D and I bought a house and moved into it this past weekend.  So now, in about a month’s time, both my job and my home are completely different. 

Chive blossoms

Moving to the new house was looming in my head for the past month.  Don’t get me wrong, I helped pick it out so I was happy with the new house.  I just didn’t want to leave the old one, what with the four years of junk stored up in the basement and the kitchen I’d come to love so much.  I don’t think I posted many pictures on here of my old kitchen, but it was adorably retro with red walls and a decidedly Asian flair that I had carefully cultivated.  I’d moved in there while I was still single so everything was arranged just the way I liked it.  The one downside though was its size: 8 feet by 10 feet.  Ouch.  When we picked out the new house, the kitchen was top priority for me. 

Table and chairsstove
Kitchen sink

Well, my dear readers, I’ve made the move and I’m loving it!  This new kitchen of mine is well-appointed and so very spacious!  Look at that counter space!  And there’s room for a table and chairs with plenty of room left over for walking through! What a novel idea!

After tearing off some pretty hideous wallpaper in both the kitchen and dining room and painting the latter the familiar shade of red that would pay homage to my old kitchen, I went in search of sustenance (seriously, do you all know how labor intensive striping old wallpaper is??  I was hungry!).  Sitting above my sink was a glass of chives in blossom that I’d gotten from Farmer Dave on my visit to opening day of Headhouse Market.  I nibbled on a few of the blossoms and decided to roll with that flavor and see where it took me.  Rummaging through boxes of packed food stuffs, I found my red lentil stash.  Bingo!  A little goat cheese and I had myself a very refreshing and filling little meal. 

Chives

Want to know the best part?  Well, delicious results aside, I most enjoyed just strewing about dirty dishes in my new kitchen.  I know that sounds really strange but when you’ve been accustomed to a three by two feet section of counter and are suddenly given yards and yards of it, it’s very liberating to plop down dirty dishes all over the place since you don’t have to worry about tidying up so you can chop the chives after you’ve crumbled the cheese. 

Ahhhhhh, change is a very good thing indeed!

 

Close up of red lentils and blossoms


Lentils with Goat Cheese & Chives

A Straight from the Farm Original

1 C. red lentils
1 ¾ C. water
4 oz. goat cheese
Chives with blossoms
Sea salt and coarse black pepper

Rinse lentils and discard any discolored ones.  Combine lentils and water in a heavy saucepan.  Bring to a boil, lower heat, cover and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.  Remove from heat, fluff, and place in the refrigerator until chilled.

Fluff chilled lentils again and mound on a serving plate.  Crumble goat cheese on top.  Pull chive blossoms apart and scatter over lentils.  Chop up the green parts of the chives and also scatter over the lentils.  Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper and serve. 

(serves 3-4)

Lentils with Goat Cheese & Chives

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Green Goodness My First Act As Bee Keeper

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  May 15, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Thank You! My chives have buds and I was wondering what to do with them. This dish looks really delicious!

    Reply
  • 2. gintoino  |  May 16, 2008 at 5:42 am

    Congrats on your new home! I will pick some chive buds and try them for the first time. I always eard about eating them but never actully did it. This recipe looks delicious.

    Reply
  • 3. lcsa99  |  May 16, 2008 at 9:38 am

    As always this looks beautiful and tasty. Congratulations on the new home!

    Btw, you’ve been given an award🙂
    http://lcsa99.wordpress.com/2008/05/16/blush-worthy/

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  May 16, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Mary – So glad I could give you an idea for the buds! 🙂

    Gintoino – Hi! Was missing your comments. I’m sure your garden is busy and happy right now. Yes, eat the chive buds…they’re delicious! 🙂 What else is growing for you right now?

    Icsa99 – Gosh, thank you!! What a wonderful surprise and what you wrote about my blog over on yours really does make me blush. 🙂 I’ll be sure to pass the honors along. Again, thanks so very much!!!

    Reply
  • 5. gintoino  |  May 16, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    Well jennie, I’ve been so busy with work and garden that almost dont have any time for blogs.
    The vegetable garden is growing fast. I’m growing letuces, chinese cabbage, soya beans, 4 diferent beans, summer squash, winter squash, melon, water melon, cherry tomatoes, onions and garlic. For some reason I cant seem to be able to grow carrots or parsnips, they just don’t germinate.

    Reply
  • 6. sophie c  |  May 20, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Aww, congrats on moving into a new house with a bigger kitchen. It seems I’ll be doing quite the opposite in just two months. My husband will be attending law school in Cambridge (Boston not UK hehe) and we’re downsizing big time. But, oh, I can’t complain too much…I really don’t mind trading in my current kitchen for this exciting move🙂. I’ve been living in Texas far too long; I can’t wait to move back to the city and explore all the exciting restaurants around town. Hehe 🙂. Oh, and I have a feeling we’re gonna be eating plenty of lentils. Not only are they delicious, but they’re perfect for a law school family budget🙂. These look yummy, I love how pretty you made them, my lentils never look that nice😛.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


