May Garden Inventory

May 23, 2008 at 12:42 pm 6 comments

cutting garden planted

My cutting garden is finally well on its way. 
In another month, there’ll be plenty to take for fresh bouquets.

Garden work has been plentiful and productive.  However, before I got too much further along with planting, I wanted to stop and take inventory of what transplants I have, what’s been planted in the garden, what needs to be planted in the near future, what seeds still need started in the greenhouse, and what I still need to buy.  Oh, and also what’s already failed this year (the peas and the radishes). 

 

Page 1 of Inventory

page 2

Page 3 of inventory

My Garden Inventory
If you’d like, click each page to make it bigger and more legiable

Inventorying took away a few hours I could have spent in the garden, but I feel it was well worth it to have this updated list.  I now know that I have over 40 perennials already planted but only nine annuals.  I never really did like annuals…  The perennials are pretty evenly divided within my cutting garden, tea garden, and sedum hill (a cute little bank I built up and need to take a picture of so you can see it too). 

In the vegetable department, I came to realize I needed to make sure my carrots went in soon so I’d have some sort of root vegetable in the ground for spring/summer (I got them directly sown on 5/21).  I’ll have other roots I plan on growing in the fall. The cole/brassica crops will have to wait until fall too as I’ve decided not to even bother with those anymore in this freaky spring we’ve been having.  Otherwise, most of my vegetables have been started in the greenhouse and I’m please with their progress.  Transplats of eggplants, tomatoes, peppers and sorrel will be ready to go out into the garden in another two weeks.  Time to start hardening them off by taking them out of the greenhouse during the day.

Once the inventorying was done, I was free to frolic with abandon in my garden.  I planted up a storm, getting the majority of my cutting garden in the ground (save for the zinnias, cosmos and nigella that I seeded in the greenhouse).  Then I swung around and planted my entire tea garden, although  I am still on the hunt for one herb in particular that’s proving very difficult to find.  If anyone knows where I can get some honeydew melon sage (seeds preferred but a cheap plant would be great too), do tell! 

Twig art

An example of twig art I saw at the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens

I also put up posts for my garden’s facade, which I plan to then string with either solar powered twinkle lights or woven branches (or maybe both).  I also hope to create some rough garden art with twigs, but that will have to wait for a rainy day.  Next up in the garden is putting water lilies in the big center container at the intersection of my paths

So, tell me, what’s in your garden today?

 

Entry filed under: In The Garden. Tags: , .

The Mac Daddy Time Flies

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sophie c  |  May 23, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    I’ve never smelled honeydew melon sage, but I bet it smells heavenly🙂. I am so jealous that you have your own little garden! How exciting, can’t wait to see more pictures!

    Reply
  • 2. VegeYum Ganga  |  May 23, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    In my garden is cardamom, kaffir lime, lemon grass, lemon verbena, chives, rosemary, parsley, curry leaf. Aloe vera. Lavender is flowering at the moment. And marigolds for pest control. They are all in pots – I live in an apartment and miss a real garden very much.

    Reply
  • 3. gintoino  |  May 24, 2008 at 2:32 am

    I wish I could be so organized as you. I hardly keep garden records, I’ll need to change that. For some reason I can’t see all you garden inventory, where ever I click it only pops up the first page.
    Your cut garden is looking good. What’s that plant with the tall white flowers at the back? I really like it.
    As for the honeydew melon sage I found this:
    http://www.papagenos.com/plantdb/plants.asp?catid=12
    I hope it helps.

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  May 27, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Gintoino – Thanks for the alert that my pages weren’t popping up. I think they’re fixed. 🙂 That tall plant in the back of my picture is Digitalis alba or Foxglove. It’s a biennial so it won’t be a show stopper all the time. Still, it’s lovely right now. 🙂

    Thanks so much for the link!! I guess I’m just going to have to buy a plant online. I had hoped to find a place selling seeds so I could grow them for myself. I guess I can collect seeds later this year though… maybe send them to friends in other countries?? 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. gintoino  |  June 3, 2008 at 11:08 am

    Yes, jennie, friends in other countries would like that🙂 We should start thinking about organising a seed swap in the future. What do you think?

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  June 3, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I’d love a seed swap! Let me know if you see anything on my list you’d llike to try and I’ll find out if the seeds will be worth saving and sending. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


