Easy Livin’

May 28, 2008 at 4:19 pm 12 comments

Ice cream scoop

With Memorial Day behind us, it is now safe to take a few very important actions.  First, we may all now wear white.  Okay, who am I kidding?  That rule’s long been defunct.  Alright, then more importantly, we can break out the flip flops and sandals.  Or, for the more daring among us, it’s time to don the skimpy swimwear.   Speedos, anyone?

Honey in a jar

I, however, am most pleased to be celebrating the seasonal milestone that is marked by Memorial Day with the first of this summer’s ice cream recipes.  Now, I won’t try to fool you.  I eat ice cream every month of the year.  Odd fact:  I eat the greatest quantities of ice cream in the month of November.  Why?  Because that’s when Edy’s puts out their limited edition Pumpkin Ice Cream, which happens to be my favorite of all flavors.  Oh baby!

The anticipation is killing me

Pumpkin aside, I’ve been searching for some rock star flavors to make at home; ones that include a locally grown ingredient.  I have visions of basil ice cream and stevia chamomile tea ice cream dancing in my head.  But to start things off with a real bang, I decided to put that freshly harvested honey to use in a Lemon Honey Ice Cream that is wickedly rich. 

Local heavy cream

The original recipe came from Melissa at The Traveler’s Lunchbox (excellent blog you should check out) and called for ricotta cheese to thicken the cream instead of the usual egg custard.  I kind of don’t like eggs so the idea of skipping the custard was enough to lure me in, although her photo was smashing as well.   I read her note about American’s not having access to good ricotta and to beware.  I wasn’t deterred.  I found the best ricotta I could (an import from Italy) and gave the ice cream maker a whirl. 

Honey, lemon and ricotta

First, let’s put the suspense aside and tell you that this was an amazing flavor combination and the creaminess/consistency was even richer than a custard based ice cream.  However, I think Melissa was right to warn about the quality of the ricotta.  The texture was just a little grainy.  It certainly didn’t stop me from eating four bowls in two days.  But it would be something I’d like to change for the next time.  Thus, I’ve adapted the recipe even further to call for half mascarpone cheese and half ricotta.  It might be fine to just go for all mascarpone, but the thickness might suffer. 

Whipped cream goes into ricotta, this is going to be good

Playing with your food is a good thing, contrary to popular doctrine, and I plan on playing with this recipe a few times until it is absolute perfection.  In the meantime, I didn’t want to hide this treasure from you.  In addition to flavor, this recipe is such a great find for it’s quick and easy nature.  With no eggs to cook, you can get the ingredients mixed and in the ice cream maker within ten minutes!  So get creative with your frozen concoctions!  Don’t stick with plain ol’ vanilla this summer (not that there’s anything wrong with a classic double scoop of vanilla on a cake cone).

And for those of you donning swimwear, let’s see the real depths of your daring nature!  Grab a couple scoops of this luscious ice cream and still rock that suit!  I’ll be sitting here in the shade, licking the bowl and humming “Summertime and the livin’ is easy…”

A bite of bliss

Honey Lemon Ice Cream
Adapted from Traveler’s Lunchbox

½ C. honey
1 t. lemon zest
8 oz. ricotta
8 oz. mascarpone cheese
2/3 C. milk
Pinch of salt
1 vanilla bean
1 C. heavy whipping cream
3 T. powdered sugar

In a large bowl, combine the honey, lemon zest, ricotta, mascarpone, milk, and pinch of salt.  Split the vanilla bean and scrape out the bean specks inside and add to the honey milk mixture.  Set mixture aside.

In a clean bowl, whip the heavy cream to soft peaks.  Add powdered sugar and whip for another minute.  Fold whipped cream into the honey milk mixture.  Taste the mixture for sweetness.  It should be slightly sweeter than you’d like since the sweetness will mellow in the freezer.  If desired, add more honey. 

Place mixture in ice cream maker and follow manufacture’s directions.  When serving, drizzle scoops of ice cream with additional honey. 

(makes 1 quart) 

Honey Lemon Ice Cream

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , .

Time Flies It Begins

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VegeYum Ganga  |  May 28, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    It sounds so glorious. For an instant I wished it was summer here again. Only for an instant, but ask me again when winter is well and truly here.

    Reply
  • 2. Mary  |  May 28, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Pumpkin ice cream is my favorite! (but this looks really amazing too!)

    Reply
  • 3. My Sweet & Saucy  |  May 29, 2008 at 12:58 am

    That looks divine! So rich and fresh looking!

    Reply
  • 4. ryan  |  May 29, 2008 at 2:52 am

    my favorite treat is simply good vanilla ice cream wih honey drizzled on top, so i’m eager to try this out!!! kudos!

    Reply
  • 5. Judy  |  May 29, 2008 at 10:34 am

    That looks incredible. What a great idea in using the honey for ice cream!!!

    Reply
  • 6. gintoino  |  May 29, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Man, does that look good! Now, for a difficult (or maybe not) difficult question. Is there anyway I could do it without an ice cream machine?

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  May 29, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Gintoino – Actually, yes, there is! The original recipe I got from The Traveler’s Lunchbox was made without an ice cream maker. It just involves a little more work. Go check it out: http://www.travelerslunchbox.com/journal/2005/5/12/a-dinner-in-three-episodes-the-encore.html🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Kevin  |  May 29, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    That looks good. I really like the sound of a honey and lemon ice cream made from ricotta and mascarpone cream.

    Reply
  • 9. coffeepot  |  May 29, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    Ohhhh .Try a sage ice cream. That could be heaven!

    Reply
  • 10. Mike of Mike's Table  |  June 9, 2008 at 10:54 am

    I’ve never tried ricotta or mascarpone in ice cream before, but that sounds really interesting. Also, the honey lemon flavor sounds really good and soothing.

    Reply
  • 11. Relaxed and Refined « Straight from the Farm  |  June 16, 2008 at 11:22 am

    […] was so medicinal tasting that I never bothered to post it to the blog.  After the success of the lemon honey ice cream last month, I got up the gumption to give the lavender concept another […]

    Reply
  • 12. Sarah  |  June 16, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Oh, I am jealous! If only I had an ice cream maker (well, and could have dairy, but never mind that!). Delicious though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


