Glazed Carrots in Lavender Vinegar

August 5, 2008 at 10:26 am 11 comments

Carrots

Okay, who’s the wise guy?  C’mon, this isn’t fair!  How did it get to be August – the fifth day nonetheless – already?!?!   I swear someone’s just messing with me and somehow got my wall calendar, my phone calendar, my computer calendar, and my multiple inbox calendars flipped forward in the middle of the night while I was blissfully unaware in my sleep.  That’s got to be it!

Mint

Well, on the off chance that it IS really the fifth day of August, now’s a great time for a chilled side dish that will perk up your wilted lunch breaks or make you look like a rock star at your collective family’s week “down the shore” in that beach house you all rent every year.  Glazed Carrots in Lavender Vinegar sounds really ooo-la-la, but it’s really an easy-peezy dish to make. 

lavender vinegar

The lavender hints really ratchet up the flavor in this dish, but I understand that not everyone has had the time to brew their own lavender vinegar.  If you visit the grocery store, particularly a “specialty” market like Whole Foods, you’ll likely run into a suitable alternative in their selection of fancy vinegars.  Off the top of my head, I think a nice alternative would be orange champagne vinegar. The dish would be completely different, but orange and carrot are bosom buddies in just about any preparation. 

Carrot sticks

As exciting as the glazed carrots are, I really need to go now and find out where the last three weeks of my life went.  In the meantime, tell me what dish has really surprised you this summer.  Surprise can be both a good and a bad thing – I’d love to hear about both!  

Oh, and if you have any clever ideas for using up bushels of carrots, I’d love to hear those as well.  I feel a wave of carrot recipes coming on since I just pulled all my King Midas carrots this morning!

 Glazed carrots up close

Glazed Carrots In Lavender Vinegar
Adapted from Vegetarian: the best-ever recipe collection

1 lb. carrots
2 T. butter
1 T. brown sugar
½ C. lavender vinegar
4 T. vegetable stock
1 t. Dijon mustard
1 T. finely chopped mint

Trim the tops and bottoms of the carrots, washing and peeling them.  Using a sharp knife, cut the carrots into thin julienne strips.

Melt the butter in a large frying pan, add the carrots and sauté for 4-5 minutes, stirring frequently.  Sprinkle over the sugar and cook, stirring, for 1 minute until the sugar is dissolved. 

Add the lavender vinegar and stock, bring to a boil and stir in the mustard.  Cover the pan and simmer on low heat for 10-12 minutes, or until the carrots are just tender.  Remove the lid and continue cooking until the liquid has thickened. 

Take the pan off the heat and stir in the mint.  Serve warm or chilled.

(serves 4)

Glazed Carrots in Lavender Vinegar

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Simply Delicious Cartoons & Ice Cream

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tina  |  August 5, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Wow, lavender vinegar! This recipe sounds absolutely amazing!

    Reply
  • 2. Gini  |  August 5, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    My mom makes a carrot pickle that’s wonderful. Email me if you are interested.
    This is how it looks
    http://giniann.wordpress.com/2006/02/23/carrot-pickle-carrot-achar/

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  August 5, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Beautiful, Gini! I’d love to learn how to make carrot pickle! Do tell more! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. gintoino  |  August 6, 2008 at 11:17 am

    That looks very similar like something we do here in southern Portugal. Only we use lots of garlic, cumin seeds and cilantro to season it. I’m not sure how to make it but can investigate and let you know if you are interested

    Reply
  • 5. bee  |  August 7, 2008 at 10:03 am

    i have carrots, lavender and mint from my garden. this sounds scrumptious.

    Reply
  • 6. bee  |  August 7, 2008 at 10:04 am

    and do dry carrot, pear or apple and ginger juice.

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  August 9, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Thanks, Bee! 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  August 9, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Gintoino – I’m ALWAYS interested in recipes from Portugal! 🙂 I was dreaming of being back there just last night!

    Reply
  • 9. Jen (Modern Beet)  |  August 11, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    this looks so delicious! My neighbor has a large lavender plant in her front yard — perhaps if I offer to make her some lavender vinegar she’ll give me a few good handfuls… I’m glad to have found your blog!

    Reply
  • 10. Jennie  |  August 11, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Jen – The barter system is always the best course of action! I trade my neighbor pie for homemade soap! 🙂 Glad you found my blog too! Come back often!

    Reply
  • 11. "click here now"  |  October 13, 2013 at 5:49 am

    “click here now”

    “[…]b Such superb written report! No idea how you were able to say this post..it’ gg[…]”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


