Too Good to be True?

August 22, 2008 at 9:30 am 20 comments

Peachs in a row

As you may or may not realize by now, I have made a lot of homemade ice cream in my days.  Growing up, churning ice cream is what we did in my family to have fun (that and making our own potato chips).  Now, mind you, my ice cream making today isn’t nearly as much of a production as it was, and still is, at my parents.  There, we’d have to use an axe and a burlap sack to smash up huge pieces of ice that my mom froze in plastic tubs in our big chest freezer.  Then we had one of those big old-fashioned churners with the motor that sat on top of the canister so we’d have to fill the canister with the custard, lower it in and get the thing to snap on just right.  Then we’d have to fill in the space between the canister and wooden barrel it sat in with crushed ice and just the right amount of salt to make an icy cold slush perfect for freezing ice cream.

White peach and honey ice cream

At my house…well, at my house I now have one of those mini all-in-one churners where you pop the canister in the freezer the night before and it gets cold enough to make the ice cream without any salty slushy ice.   Somehow the nostalgia has gone out of it, but the ease is worth the trade-off.  Especially when you can make something so wonderful as White Peach & Honey Ice Cream in a jiff with minimal mess.

Peach halves

I’m a sucker for fresh ripe white peaches.  I don’t mind the yellow peaches, but honestly, I could care less about them.  In contrast, I’d walk several miles barefoot on a hot country road to find an orchard with ripe white peaches.  Their sweetness is more purely peach, in my opinion, and I tend to think they have a softer, juicer flesh than the yellows.  Or maybe I just like their color.  It could be that. 

Chunks of peaches

I got this particular batch of peaches at the Headhouse Market from North Star Orchards.  As always, their fruit was amazing (can’t wait for pear season!) and I ate more of these out of hand on the drive home than I care to admit.  But I did manage to save a bunch to make ice cream.  Nothing is more lovely in my mind than marriage of peaches and cream.  If I were a Greek god on Olympus, I’d throw all the nectar out and just have my fill of peaches and cream.  It’s heavenly.

Whisk in cream

In my search for a good base recipe, I found one on Allrecipes.com that had a five star rating by 80 reviewers!  If you haunt Allrecipes like I do, you know that it’s practically unheard off to have such a consistently high rating by so many reviewers.  I really wasn’t looking for a recipe that used eggs but decided I’d better try this one to clear up my skepticism.  All I can say is that after the first bite, I went straight to my computer and gave this a similar five star rating and gushing review.  Granted, I made some substantial changes to the recipe, but I think the premise holds true to the original.

Honey drizzled in peach puree

This ice cream is summer in a scoop.  Sweet and creamy with soft chunks of peach that release pockets of juice on your tongue.  I’m not even going to try to pretend: I ate the whole batch in two days.  It’s so good.  And honey…honey in this ice cream is perfect!  I used my own that I’d harvested earlier this year, and it’s floral notes no doubt lifted up the fruitiness of the peach but the uninformed eater wouldn’t even know there was honey in there.  I loved the idea of using a natural sweetener with these local peaches, and I’m so glad it worked out to be just the right thing to send the ice cream over the top.

Spoonful of peach ice cream

Best homemade ice cream ever!  Off the star-rating system!  If you don’t believe me, you’ll just have to try it yourself.  Just promise me you’ll be sure to use RIPE LOCAL peachs!?!  It’d be a sin to use anything else.

White Peach & Honey Ice Cream
Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Don’t be put off by this recipe using raw eggs (unless you’re pregnant or nursing).  I promise you don’t taste the raw egg.  Just be sure to get the freshest eggs you can. 

2 large eggs, beaten
½ C. (scant) sugar
½ C. honey
3 large (or 4 small) really ripe fresh white peaches
1 C. heavy cream
1 C. half & half creamer
1 vanilla bean, split and scraped
Pinch of salt
2 T. vanilla vodka (optional)

Pit and peel the peaches.  Chop into small cubes and then mash or puree until juice is released but chunks of peach remain. Stir honey into the peaches and set aside.

Combine the eggs and sugar until smooth.  Add the heavy cream, half & half, vanilla bean, and salt.  Stir until combined.  Add the peach mixture to the egg mixture.  Cover and chill for at least an hour or even overnight to let the flavors of the peaches and cream marry.  (It is possible to still get a nice ice cream if you need to churn it right away, but the flavor won’t be as intense.)

Place chilled mixture in your ice cream maker and follow manufacture’s directions.  A minute or two before the ice cream is done, add the vanilla vodka if desired (the addition of alcohol to homemade ice cream helps the ice cream retained a smoother, less icy consistency when stored in the freezer). 

Serve with slices of fresh peach and whipped cream for a real indulgence!

(makes approximately 1 quart)

Ice cream in jars

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , .

Use ‘Em Up! Sour Sendoff

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gintoino  |  August 22, 2008 at 10:40 am

    That’s it ! I’m definetelly going to buy an icecream maker.

    PS – I’m happy you liked the recipe I sent you🙂

    Reply
  • 2. AmyF  |  August 22, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Some of us will be forced to “sin” after reading this. No local fresh peaches where I live, but after reading this, I have to make some!

    Reply
  • 3. De in D.C.  |  August 22, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    We must be in the same frame of mind this week. I made fresh peach ice cream and chai tea ice cream last night. I used my normal vanilla custard base for the peach (though I cut the vanilla and simmered it with a mashed up peach) and during the last 5mins of churning added in 3 diced/mashed peaches and juice. I also used honey for half the sweetener in both batches. Yum.

    Here’s my vanilla recipe (which is easily adaptable):
    http://aspicedlife.blogspot.com/2008/04/i-scream-you-scream.html

    Reply
  • 4. Maggie  |  August 22, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    This looks great and our local peaches have just started to get really good. Is there any particular honey that you use?

    Reply
  • 5. Jennie  |  August 23, 2008 at 6:13 am

    Maggie – The honey used was what I harvested from my own bee hive so it’s not available elsewhere. However, I’d recommend trying to get a local “wildflower” honey if you can. There’s usually a honey vendor at every farmers market so see what they have. Hope that helps! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Pick-up: August 23rd « farm to table  |  August 23, 2008 at 10:35 am

    […] 3 white peaches (To make some of THIS!) […]

    Reply
  • 7. brilynn  |  August 24, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    That sounds wonderful!
    I’ve tried twice to make peach ice cream this year and failed because the peaches weren’t ripe enough and just didn’t have the flavour, I’m determined to try again though.

    Reply
  • 8. Alejandra  |  August 24, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    This sounds so lovely. I’ve never done peach ice cream but i suspect i would love it. Can’t wait to try! Lovely blog🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Madeline  |  August 24, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Oh, I agree, I prefer white peaches too. However, all I can find at the moment are yellow peaches, which I’m eating my weight in! I can’t even imagine how amazing this ice cream is. I’ll be making it before peach season is over.

    Reply
  • 10. PaniniKathy  |  August 25, 2008 at 12:50 am

    White peach and honey ice cream just screams “summer” to me! It sounds just lovely – I’m thinking I may have to pull out the ice cream maker once more!

    Reply
  • 11. Fearless Kitchen  |  August 25, 2008 at 10:00 am

    This looks great – I love homemade ice cream, peaches and honey. I’ve done the old-fashioned ice cream churning thing, admittedly many, many years ago, and I have to admit I really like the more modern way better.

    Reply
  • 12. Gourmet Coffee Info  |  August 25, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I just tried this today and waiting patiently for it to freeze a little more. I had a sample off the ice cream paddle and it tastes soooo good. Unfortunately we have nothing in our grocery stores that resembles a good tasting peach, so I had to used canned peaches (I know). But still tastes great. Thanks for the recipe!:)

    Reply
  • 13. sweets for my sweet « farm to table  |  August 26, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    […] fight(s), hehehe.  So to congratulate us on making it our first year, I made some sweet treats: peach + honey ice cream via Straight from the Farm blog and apple muffins from the King Arthur Flour […]

    Reply
  • 14. Gaetano  |  August 31, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Wow that looks so delish. I’ve been grabbing white peaches at Headhouse from the 3 Springs folks. I’ve been loving their stuff all summer. I think i made granita from every fruit they offered.

    Gonna test out some ice cream, minus the eggs. Love the honey and peach duet.

    http://phillymarketcafe.blogspot.com

    G

    Reply
  • 15. raspberrygin  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Love the look of the ice-cream, and will make some. One thing concerns me greatly though…

    Freezing will not take away the risk of salmonella from the eggs. Salmonella is only killed by high temperatures, not by freezing. I would hate for anyone to think that freezing kills the salmonella.

    Reply
  • 16. Jennie  |  September 2, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Thanks, RaspberryGin. I apologize if my comment was misleading… I didn’t mean to imply that freezing *killed* salmonella. I meant that it will greatly lower the risk of the eggs going bad and causing food posioning. I’ve deleted that statement altogether to avoid confusion.

    Reply
  • 17. enri_  |  September 19, 2008 at 9:57 am

    I was googling around to find some easy ice cream recipe and I arrived here: great ice cream, even without any eggs! Thanks from Italy!

    Reply
  • 18. dark chocolate rosemary ice cream « Straight from the Farm  |  September 30, 2008 at 9:11 am

    […] one hesitation in writing this post?  I can’t decide if my earlier declaration that White Peach and Honey Ice Cream was the best ever ice cream is now defunct or not.   When ripe luscious peaches are in season, I […]

    Reply
  • 19. Recent Links Tagged With "cream" - JabberTags  |  January 2, 2009 at 1:19 am

    […] Nutella Ice Cream (Obscene Cuisine, Recipe No. 14) Saved by djenczyk on Mon 22-12-2008 Too Good to be True? Saved by MysticForce223 on Fri 19-12-2008 13 From the Life Guard Stand Saved by MarinaWolf on Fri […]

    Reply
  • 20. Leigh Armstrong  |  July 10, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Made this today using YELLOW peaches🙂 delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


