Last Minute Treat

October 31, 2008 at 3:22 pm 5 comments

Basket of apples

A quick photo recipe for you, should you be scrambling for a last minute Halloween treat.  While writing the post for Dulce de Leche & Oat Apple Bars, I got to thinking about how long it had been since I’d had a caramel apple.  Then I looked once more at the large bushel basket of local apples I have in the basement and decided it was high time I made some of these gooey delights.  This really wasn’t meant to be a blog post since the recipe is ridiculously easy, but the apples proved to be so garsh darn photogenic, I couldn’t help snapping a few pictures to share.

Apples with sticks

To make the caramel apples, begin by washing, drying and removing the stems of 6-8 apples (I like to use smaller ones so you get a better caramel to apple ratio). Pop them in the freezer for an hour to get nice and chilled.  Getting the apples cold helps the caramel solidify more quickly.  Meanwhile, unwrap all the caramels in a 14 ounce bag.  Place in a large bowl with two tablespoons of milk and microwave on high for one minute.  Stir and microwave for another minute.  Stir vigorously to get any lumps out and let the caramel cool for a few minutes so it’s not so runny.

Dipping apples in caramel

Pull the apples out of the freezer and push a popsicle stick into the center of each.  Place a sheet of wax paper on the counter and spray with non-stick spray.  Roll each apple around in the melted caramel and hold above the bowl for a minute to let the excess caramel drip off.  If you’d like, use a knife to scrape off the bottom of the apple since it will get plenty more caramel that pools around the bottom while it sets up.  

Caramel Apples

Allow the coated apples to sit for at least three hours before serving or, if you’re in a hurry like me, place them in the fridge until the caramel hardens (about an hour).  I like my caramel apples plain and simple but you might like them rolled in nuts, sprinkles, or crushed oreos.  Wrap with plastic wrap to store.

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , , .

Happy Halloween! Summer Swan Song

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanna  |  November 1, 2008 at 9:30 am

    nothing’s better than a nice caramel apple. the only bad part is unwrapping a thousand caramel candies!! in the end, it’s worth it .

    Reply
  • 2. Niall Harbison  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Sweet I was toying with the idea of doing a video for these last week but I couldn’t find a good recipe and as I had never made them before just didn’t bother. Now that I have this I am going to give them a whirl this week! cheers!

    Reply
  • 3. ingrid  |  November 4, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Wow, doesn’t get much easier than that, huh! Thanks for the “freezer” tip. I have a few apples that I’ve been meaning to dunk. Not sure what I’ve waiting for!
    ~ingrid

    Reply
  • 4. Kitchen Goddess  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    What a lovely blog you have here. Toffee apples are gorgeous aren’t they.

    Reply
  • 5. Karen  |  November 13, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Who knew caramel apples could be so easy?!?! I never knew and now I am going to have to give them a try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


