Happy Holidays & A Give Away!

December 22, 2008 at 2:59 pm 14 comments

Congratulations to K (comment #3), the winner of this lovely box of tea!!!  Thank you, every one, for your wonderful comments! 

Tea Box

SFTF is officially on Christmas vacation for a few days.  But below is a little slideshow to keep you entertained.  Christmas at Longwood Gardens is in full swing.   I’ve certainly honed my night photography skills in an attempt to capture the magic.  

Also, I’m giving away a box of my handcrafted, organically grown, loose leaf herbal tea.  Yep, you guys have been nothing but nice this past year and deserve a little gift.  I wish I had a box for all the thousands of you that read this blog regularly (merci!) but since I don’t, it’s time for a yuletide give away!  Leave a comment below about your favorite SFTF moment this past year or something you hope to see here in the upcoming year.  Make sure the email address you enter is accurate as that’s how I’ll contact you.  I’ll put the names in a hat and draw one out after the New Year. 

Best wishes to you and yours this holiday season! 

~
~
if pictures aren’t loading, click on the “x” in the upper right of the box

Entry filed under: In The Garden. Tags: .

Cranberries + Coffee Cake New Year, New Look

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. solsticekennels  |  December 24, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    What is my favorite moment from SFTF? Just finding you, I’ve so enjoyed the photos and wonderful reciepts. Thanks so much for sharing with all of us.

    solsticecwc@gmail.com

    Jinnie

    Reply
  • 2. smorgasbroad  |  December 25, 2008 at 3:29 am

    I have to say that Rhubarb & Port Risotto was about the most sophisticated and unusual thing I’d ever seen. I’d never considered a sweet risotto before, let alone one with the tragically under-appreciated stalk that is called Rabarbara in Scandinavia (cute, huh?).

    In the new year, I would like to see something about food storage, if you have a good system going. (I long for the day when I own my own yard and can dig a root cellar.)

    daniellezm@sbcglobal.net

    Reply
  • 3. K  |  December 25, 2008 at 9:37 am

    I can’t narrow my favorite to one specific posting – but what I really love is when you do the week of – the week of bread, but especially the week of soup and was actually going to leave you a note to see if you were going to do another one this coming year ’cause I am always looking for good soup recipes.

    Reply
  • 4. Matriarchy  |  December 25, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    I like the lovely photography for the “In the Garden” entries. I also like the recipes for preserves, like the one with ground cherries. I made the lemon rosemary cake, which we liked. Come to think of it, I have leftover rosemary from making lamb, right now…

    Reply
  • 5. wes  |  December 25, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    I’m glad that I found youj, and I check in with your blog fairly regularly now that I have. Fantastic pictures, and I’ve saved a few recipes to try as I have time and ingredients on hand. and thank you for introducing me to etsy. I want to make something to sell now that I’ve found it. I can’t wait to see what the new year will bring.

    Reply
  • 6. Steph  |  December 26, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Your blog is so gorgeous. My favorite recipe from it has to be the spiced fig and pear preserves. So gorgeous and delicious, but the most brilliant part of it is the use of the microwave. Never would have thought of that, or thought that it would be possible!

    Reply
  • 7. Athena  |  December 27, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I love your photographs. I just recently found you and I’m so glad I did! I already found recipes I’m dying to try out. I hope in the New Year you will continue to entertain us with your beautiful and scrumptious food! I can’t wait until I can get some land of my own, too🙂.

    Reply
  • 8. gintoino  |  December 28, 2008 at 7:22 am

    I just love your blog jennie, you know that. Beautiful pictures, great recipes and a really nice blogger.
    Having said this my favorite moment has to be your post about Portugal (You wouldn’t expect it to be a different one, right?). My favorite recipe until now was the eggplant meatballs. I do them all the time, talk about them to my friends, post about them in my blog, I’m the “great eggplant meatball fan”!

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 9. Allie  |  December 28, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    My favourite is more of a group than a singular. I am mildly obsessed with figs, and you really do some of the most lovely things with them. The compote especially, earlier this year, looked exquisite.

    Reply
  • 10. Priti  |  December 29, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    I love your site. I really enjoy learning how to use fresh, seasonal produce and fruit, with the gorgeous photography as an added bonus!

    I think my favorite recipe so far is how you adapted Emeril’s eggplant shells. It looked delicious!!!

    Reply
  • 11. Becky  |  December 29, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    When my csa was in full swing, earlier this year, I definitely relied on your blog for tasty, creative recipes that use fresh herbs and veggies. But, even when I’m not confronted with a “what do i do with all these collards?” type of evening (by the way…that question is no longer an issue – as now I know how to make the creamy collards with rice – yum!!), I love to see what else you’ve got cooking. I love to bake too, and have never been disappointed with any of your recipes. So, thanks! The new layout looks wonderful. But I agree with the others who’ve posted – the question should really be ‘momentS’ -how can we pick just one?! chocolate beet cake, cauliflower mash, north african roasted veggies, corn and tomatillo chowder…and the gorgeous pictures, of course!!

    Reply
  • 12. ingrid  |  December 29, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Your photos are gorgeous! I’m new here but am looking around so I have no fave but give me a few weeks…..:-)

    Happy 2009!
    ~ingrid

    Reply
  • 13. Jennie  |  December 29, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Thank you so much, everyone! You all make running this blog a joy! I’m so glad to hear there are so many recipes and inspirations here that have helped you in the kitchen or with other creative endeavors. All your comments really make me smile. For me, it’s all about clearing up those moments of doubt when confronted with an oddball vegetable and encouraging you to take leaps of faith, be it cooking something new, trying your hand at growing your own food, starting a side business by selling homemade goods on Etsy, or even making a bold career change at 30… 🙂 Can’t wait to see what 2009 has in store for all of us!

    Reply
  • 14. "full report"  |  October 12, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    “full report”

    “[…]4 excellent issues altogether, you simply received a new reader. What could y qh[…]”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


