Roasted Asparagus Risotto

May 16, 2009 at 11:54 am 11 comments

Aparagus and Risotto Diptych

Oh non, je suis désolé, mes chéris!  This post was meant to go up automatically while I was traveling this past week to Puerto Rico.  But apparently there was some sort of “technical difficulty” and here it is, several days late and perhaps nearing the end of that most wonderful time of spring: asparagus season!  I hope that you are still able to get plenty of these delectable green shoots where you are.    And of course there will be some photos shortly of my brief visit to sunny San Juan that will remind us all that summer is just around the corner. 

~

Headhouse Market Diptych

Ah, asparagus season!  It’s here in full force and I snapped up several bunches of these delicious green spears at last week’s Headhouse Market where the tables were already beginning to fill out with all manner of greens, herbs, asparagus, rhubarb, fennel, and even some apples that had been stored through the winter in a cool barn cellar.   And of course, my favorite bakery and cheese vendors were back once more, and I made sure to show my appreciation by buying much more than I should have since I won’t be home much this week (I’m traveling south to Puerto Rico for a professional development opportunity). 

Roasted Asparagus

But back to the asparagus, my favorite of all spring time ephemeral foods.  I grew up with plenty of asparagus at the ready in both my backyard and the roadside bed across from my grandmother’s house.  I never was one of those kids that pinched my nose and said “pee-yew!” when mom brought over the asparagus platter to the dinner table.   I loved it from the start and I loved picking it – going out each morning to see if there were new shoots the right size for the taking.  Asparagus can grow very quickly this time of year, literally overnight.

Risotto in the making

I never realized what a treat I had on my hands back then.  Fresh picked asparagus is leaps and bounds better than anything you’ll ever get in the store.  Even the stuff that’s at the farmers market, if it’s been picked a few days in advance, is already starting to toughen up and loose its sugars.   I usually ask the farmer when it was picked before buying and then I try to make sure I use up the asparagus within a day or two to get maximum flavor.   As such, I made it a point to put together this Roasted Asparagus Risotto before leaving town. 

Roasted Asparagus Risotto

Risotto, if you recall, is relatively new to the Straight from the Farm kitchen, but I’ve been making plenty of it since I first started last summer.  The creamy robust rice is the perfect way to transport asparagus to a whole new level.  I found that roasting the pieces first really brought out a caramelized note in the final dish.  And surely you’ve notice that I love to roast just about anything I can on this site. 

Get yourself some asparagus before the season slips away for another year.  And, please, do tell me, what is your favorite way to prepare it?! 

A delicious bite

Roasted Asparagus Risotto
Adapted from Simply Recipes

1 lb. fresh asparagus
1 T. olive oil
3 T. butter
1/2 C. finely chopped onion
1 C. uncooked arborio rice
1/2 C. dry white wine
3 ½ – 4 C. vegetable stock
1 t. minced fresh mint
4 ounces goat cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 425 F and line a baking sheet with foil. 

Prepare the asparagus by snapping off the tough ends.  Give the spears a rinse and then cut into bite size pieces.  Place the pieces in a bowl of cool water and swish around to remove grit – let it sit for a moment so the grit falls to the bottom of the bowl and then remove the asparagus pieces with a slotted spoon.  Pat dry and place on the baking sheet.  Drizzle with oil and season with salt and pepper.  Toss to coat all pieces and roast in the oven for 10-15 minutes or until tender and beginning to brown.  Set roasted asparagus aside.

In a 3 or 4 quart saucepan, heat the butter on medium heat. Add the onion and cook for a few minutes until translucent. Add the rice and cook for 2 minutes more, stirring until nicely coated.  While the onion is cooking, bring the stock to a simmer in another saucepan.

Add the wine. Slowly stir, allowing the rice to absorb the wine. Once the wine is almost completely absorbed, add 1/2 cup of stock to the rice.

Continue to stir until the liquid is almost completely absorbed, adding more stock in 1/2 cup increments. Stir often to prevent the rice from sticking to the bottom of the pan. Continue cooking and stirring rice, adding a little bit of broth at a time, cooking and stirring until it is absorbed, until the rice is tender, but still firm to the bite, about 20 minutes. Remove from heat.

Gently stir in the mint, cheese, and roasted asparagus. Season generously with salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately.

(serves 4)

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Sorrel & Roasted Potato Soup Summer’s Nearly Here

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. heather  |  May 16, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    this looks and sounds lovely! the flavor trio of asparagus, goat cheese and mint – delightful.

    cheers,

    *heather*

    Reply
  • 2. lailablogs  |  May 17, 2009 at 9:30 am

    looks absolutely delicious … Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  May 17, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Thanks for this beautiful recipe – I made it this evening, substituting feta for the goat cheese (since my husband refuses to eat goat cheese) and it was delicious!

    Reply
  • 4. Corrinne  |  May 18, 2009 at 8:49 am

    This looks absolutely fabulous! Your photos are beautiful as well. I work with Chavrie goat cheese and this is a wonderful recipe for me to share with all the goat cheese lovers around here!

    Reply
  • 5. xq  |  May 19, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    yum, this looks delicious, will definitely have to give it a try!

    Reply
  • 6. Becky and the Beanstock  |  May 20, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Asparagus season, indeed! It’s on in full force here as well — I actually have two pounds of it still to use.Definitely plan to make this risotto — roasted asparagus is divine. Recently made a tart, and I’ve discovered my new favorite herb with asparagus is marjoram. There’s something about the delicacy and citrusy notes in the herb and the depth of asparagus that works really well.

    You take very artistic photos — quite lovely!

    Reply
  • 7. Kevin  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    That asparagus risotto looks good! It is a nice way to enjoy the asparagus.

    Reply
  • 8. Kathryn  |  June 9, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    What a FABULOUS recipe this is! I made it the day I found it on your blog and it was delicious. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 9. Send flowers to India  |  July 7, 2009 at 2:29 am

    Thanks for this beautiful recipe, this looks and sounds lovely.

    Reply
  • 10. melpy  |  January 9, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I am anxiously awaiting asparagus season so I can make this. Roasting is my favorite way of preparing it and I adore risotto so I can’t think of a better way to enjoy it.

    Reply
  • 11. Amanda  |  July 19, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    Wow. I must make this. So beautiful😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


