Let the Festivities Begin!

May 25, 2009 at 1:10 pm 14 comments

Candied Rhubarb and Kumquats on Chocolate Pavlova

Guess what?  Today the blog turns TWO!   Part of me feels like this blog has been with me forever while the other part of me can’t believe it’s been two whole years already!  I adore writing and photographing for these delicious posts, and I can’t thank you all enough for coming around to indulge my creative fantasies.  In honor of this special occasion, I’m launching Rhubarb Fest here on the blog — an outright barrage of recipes for one of my favorite ingredients of all time and a beautiful one to boot! 

Candied Rhubarb

We’ll start off the pink-infused festivities and the third year of SFTF with this delightful recipe for Candied Rhubarb and Kumquats, which are basically Part II of the Chocolate Pavlova recipe in the last post.   Now, while the rhubarb is most definitely a local and very seasonal ingredient, you may be bulking at the idea of kumquats showing up here on SFTF.  While this dainty citrus is indeed often an import, I gleaned mine from a lovely group of trees grown indoors where I work.    I have also recently acquired a baby kumquat tree of my very own and hope it will put on fruit by next year.  These trees, which remain rather small and bear the fruit that reminds me of sour gummy worms, are very easy to grow as glorified houseplants that take their summer vacation out on the patio or deck.  I’d encourage you to look into getting one if you like citrus but wish you didn’t have to buy it in from far away. 

Kumquats fresh and candied

Back to the star of the show though.  This rhubarb is part of a bunch I got at the Headhouse Farmers Market.  Stored wrapped in an ever so slightly damp paper towel in a sealed ziplock bag, rhubarb will keep for a week or two, maybe even more, in the fridge.   It makes for wonderful warm sauces, jams, compotes, cakes, pies, “fools”, muffins, and even savory toppings for chicken.    This candied version is one of my favorite preparations to date. 

Kumquats and flowers

The combination of the candied rhubarb and kumquats is a match made in heaven.  Both retain their penchant for being ever so slightly tart and their bright hues, giving the candied results as complex flavor and some of the most beautiful colors you can find in the food world.   Atop the pillowy chocolate meringue and pile of whipped cream of the pavlova, these lovelies made for a sinfully rich dessert that demands your full attention. 

Rhubarb syrup and and spritzer

If you’re not up to making the pavlova recipe, use the candied rhubarb and kumquats to top just about anything —  pound cake, ice cream, waffles — or just grab them without shame out of their jars and lick your sticky fingers with glee.    The syrup created when the rhubarb is candied can be used to infuse club soda or ginger ale to make a refreshing summer spritzer.  Add a little vanilla vodka and crushed mint and you have a cocktail worthy of any garden party or reception. 

Candied Rhubarb and Kumquats
A Straight from the Farm Original

2 C. water
2 C. sugar
1 vanilla bean, split and scraped
2 C. kumquats, split in half and de-seeded
2 C. rhubarb, cut into 1 inch lengths
1 t. freshly grated ginger

*You can certainly just make one type of these or combine them both in one saucepan instead of cooking separately.  I wanted to do make both just a little differently so I’ve split the preparations for the two. 

Begin by bringing a large pot of water to a boil and blanching the kumquats for 2 minutes.  Use a slotted spoon to remove the kumquats from the boiling water and into a bowl of ice water.  Allow kumquats to cool for a few minutes in the water before draining off.  Set aside.

In a medium heavy saucepan, combine the 2 cups water, 2 cups sugar, and vanilla bean.  Bring to a gentle boil for a minute or two to create a simple syrup.  Carefully ladle half the syrup into another medium heavy saucepan. 

With both saucepans over medium heat, place the blanched kumquats in one and the chopped rhubarb in the other.  Add the ginger to the rhubarb pan only.   Monitor and regularly stir both pans, cooking at a simmer for 15 minutes or until tender. 

Use a slotted spoon to remove kumquats and rhubarb to separate bowls.   Keep both pans of syrup on the stove and bring back to a gentle boil, cooking until syrup is noticeably reduced, about 5-7 minutes. 

I placed my kumquats in a jar with their reduced syrup and stored in the fridge.   The rhubarb syrup I cooled and stored separately in a jar to use over French toast and to make a rhubarb spritzer.  The rhubarb pieces I drained very well and let dry on wax paper before rolling them in vanilla sugar and storing them in a sealed tupperware.

(makes about 1 cup of each fruit)

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , , .

Chocolate Pavlova Rhubarb Fest: Sorbet

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. smulholland  |  May 25, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Oh YUM!! I just planted rhubarb but I stashed some of my boyfriend’s mom’s in my freezer just last week! Perfect!

    Reply
  • 2. Gry Dla Dzieci  |  May 27, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Rhubarb! Man, that brings some memories … My grandmother came from Poland and I remember every time we visited she had a jug of rhubarb “kompot” (stewed fruit) waiting for me..
    I haven’t thought about for such a long time … thanks for digging these memories up🙂

    Reply
  • 3. wes  |  May 27, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I just planted my rhubarb last fall, so I can’t pick any until next year, but I’m already collecting recipes. Hopefully it’ll live until next year (Tucson AZ is not known for rhubarb, but I’ll have to look at planting a kumquat tree.) We had a kumquat tree when I was a kid and I miss them.

    Reply
  • 4. ziabaki  |  June 2, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Back again. Since I found you blog this afternoon, I have been all over it! Very well done. Loved the blueberry lavender dressing. Gonna make that fer shure.This posting is so creative and inspiring! I love your pictures and the warm way you talk about your great love of gardening. I too do a blog on eating consciously. It is a bit different, of course, but along the same lines. Pop over and visit! BTW I’m adding you to my blog roll.
    Dana Zia
    The Go-lightly Gourmet
    http://danazia.wordpress.com/

    Reply
    • 5. Jennie  |  June 3, 2009 at 8:38 pm

      Welcome, Dana!!! So glad you not only found the blog, but also took so much time to explore it. 🙂 Sounds like we’re kindred spirits. Thanks for all the kind words. I’m going to head over to your blog now to explore a bit myself. 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Food in Jars » Food in Jars from around the internet  |  June 3, 2009 at 11:55 am

    […] Jennie at Straight from the Farm made some gorgeous candied rhubarb and kumquats. […]

    Reply
  • […] Rhubarb – make candied rhubarb and rhubarb syrup for camping […]

    Reply
  • […] Meals from that Thursday, June 25 breakfast: cereal with sliced apple on top w/ soy milk; 2 pears dinner: out at an Indian restaurant (acquire mint clippings) prep: set meusli to soak for Friday’s breakfast; candy rhubarb […]

    Reply
  • 9. Send flowers to India  |  July 7, 2009 at 2:16 am

    Loved the blueberry lavender dressing

    Reply
  • 10. gry winx  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    mmmmmmm it looks so delicious, I want try something!

    Reply
  • 11. ubieranki  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    recipe looks really simple, I will definitely try it soon! Thnx for sharing looks tasty

    Reply
  • […] Jennie at Straight from the Farm made some gorgeous candied rhubarb and kumquats. […]

    Reply
  • 14. "article source"  |  October 12, 2013 at 12:52 pm

    “article source”

    “[…]8 Aw, it was an extremely nice post. In thought I have to invest writing such i3[…]”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


