Angel Food Cake & Rhubarb Fool

June 4, 2009 at 12:33 pm 14 comments

Rhubarb Fool over Angel Food Cake

We’ve hit the jackpot again, folks!  Another recipe that, should I ever have the good fortune to open a restaurant or become a caterer, would surely be a signature dish and have folks lining up at the door, whispering in reverent tones that they’ve come for the Rhubarb Fool Over Old-Fashioned Angel Food Cake.  That and the Roasted Rosemary Potato Leek Soup and the Georgia Peanut Soup and the Honey-Ginger Carrot Parsnip Latkes and the Roasted Root and Ricotta Pizza and the Roasted Sweet Potato and Cauliflower Mash and the Fresh Fig Compote and the Parsnip Spiced Cupcakes with Ginger Cream Cheese Frosting and the….   well, you get the idea.  I kind of have this all planned out, ya know.

Basket of eggs and resulting angel food cake

But today’s post is all about this slightly messy and tremendously rich and tasty glass full of goodness.  Within it nestles angel food cake made with gorgeous farm fresh eggs from my friend E’s chickens layered with freshly whipped cream and stewed rhubarb that still has its tangy bite to balance the almondy sweetness of the airy cake cubes.   It’s the whipped cream and stewed rhubarb that make up the “rhubarb fool”, a term that is decidedly British.  If you’re feeling foolish for not knowing what a fruit fool is, stop on over at Joy of Baking and get the details. 

Whipped egg whites

Now, I have to tell you a story.  Pull up a chair and get comfy if you haven’t already.  You see, I really wanted to name this dish “Rhubarb Slop”, but I figured it wouldn’t sell to the masses nearly as well.  But in my mind, this style of dessert will always be “slop”.  Huh?!?

Take a Bite

As I was growing up, my mom made, with some regularity, a big old bowl of cake cubes (usually angel food), whipped cream (though I think she used Cool Whip) and whatever fruit was in season macerated in sugar, all tossed together in an alarmingly sloppy way, though it was ridiculously delicious and one of my perennial favorites as a child.  My poor mom always wanted us to call it a fruit trifle, but my impish brothers all insisted on calling it “slop” and I soon followed their lead, though today I feel my mother’s pain for having a delicious seasonal dessert defamed by such a title.   So, call it what you want as long as you promise not to make a fool of yourself by licking the slop off the bowl and trifling with the manners of those around you. 

Sick of reading about rhubarb (shame on you!) and wondering what else is in season right now?  Check out these fine recipes:

Kohlrabi and Carrot Salad
Roasted Garlic Scapes and New Potatoes
Garlic Mustard Pesto
Pea Shoots in Fillo Dough

 

Angel Food Cake
Adapted from The Practical Encyclopedia of Baking

1 C. cake flour
1 1/2 C. superfine sugar
1 1/4 C. egg whites (about 10 eggs)
1 1/4 t. cream of tartar
1/4 t. salt
1 t. vanilla extract
1/4 t. almond extract

Preheat oven to 325 F.

Sift the flour before measuring and then sift it again with 1/2 cup of sugar onto a piece of parchment or wax paper.  Set aside.   

With an electric mixer, beat the egg whites until foamy.  Sift over the cream of tartar and salt and continue to beat until they hold soft peaks.  Add the remaining sugar in 3 batches, beathing well after each addition.  Stir in the vanilla and almond extracts.

Sift the flour mixture, 1/2 cup at a time, over the egg mixture and fold in with a large metal spoon after each addition.  Transfer batter to an ungreased tube pan.  Bake until delicately browned on top, about 1 hour.

Turn the pan upside down onto a cake rack or tea towel and let cool for an hour or so.  If the cake does not unmold on its own, carefully run a sharp knife around the edge to loosen it.   Invert on a serving plate. 

 

Rhubarb Fool

2 C. diced rhubarb
1 C. white sugar
1/2 C. brown sugar
1 C. water
1 C. heavy cream

Combine the sugars and water in a small saucepan and heat over medium heat until sugars are disolved.  Add rhubarb and cook until soft, about 4 minutes.   Remove from heat and chill for at least 4 hours.

Whip heavy cream until soft peaks form.  Gently fold in, but do not overmix, cooled rhubarb.   

To serve as Rhubarb Fool over Angel Food Cake, top cubes of angel food cake with rhubarb fool.

(serves 12)

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , .

Rhubarb Fest: Sorbet Strawberry Vanilla Ice Cream

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. oneordinaryday  |  June 4, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Yours is the third fool I’ve seen recently. It looks wonderful!

    Reply
  • 2. Katharina  |  June 5, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    All I can say is yummmmm

    I wish I was your neighbor. I would come over all the time🙂

    Reply
    • 3. Jennie  |  June 6, 2009 at 9:10 pm

      Funny you should say that….seems a lot of folks would like to be my neighbor! I wish I could have you all over for dinner regularly!!!

      Reply
  • 4. Madeline  |  June 7, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    I have more rhubarb than I know what to with but I certainly know now! I love your round up of recipes for your restaurant🙂

    Reply
    • 5. Jennie  |  June 8, 2009 at 6:33 pm

      Thanks, Madeline! BTW, I stopped over at your lovely blog and I have to tell you that you made me chuckle out loud more than a few times. I’ve bookmarked it and look forward to stopping by again.🙂

      Reply
  • 6. lo  |  June 9, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I’m a complete fool for rhubarb — and those photos are giving me a real craving. I wish I could say we grew our own rhubarb… I’ve always got to endear myself to friends and neighbors to get a bit of their stash🙂

    Reply
  • 7. ziabaki  |  June 9, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    I just made my first angel food cake about a year ago, and have never looked back. Not only is it ridiculously fun, but it is low in calories and fat! Yeah, yeah, I know that is also devoid of any nutritional value, but add fruit and you are there. Thanks for the beautiful post and pictures. Love the way you write. Pop over for a look at a angle food cake I made this winter.
    http://danazia.wordpress.com/2009/02/07/stir-up-the-senses-with-a-tactile-love-feast/
    Thanks!
    Dana Zia

    Reply
  • 8. Sunshine Mom  |  June 29, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    You take the most beautiful photos!! I love your blog!!!

    Reply
    • 9. Jennie  |  June 29, 2009 at 5:28 pm

      Thanks, Sunshine Mom! 🙂 Come back often!

      Reply
  • 10. mexican-restaurants-brisbane  |  November 18, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Sites of interest…

    Here’s some related news….

    Reply
  • 11. Arnold  |  April 16, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    Very soon this web site will be famous amid
    all blog users, due to it’s fastidious articles or reviews

    Reply
  • 12. 排名優化  |  April 22, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    Good day! I simply would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the great
    data you might have right here on this post.

    I might be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

    Reply
  • 13. Sex Chat Transcript  |  May 25, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    Awesome! Its actually amazing post, I have got much clear idea
    concerning from this article.

    Reply
  • 14. wedki muchowe  |  July 4, 2014 at 1:34 am

    These self-catering carzvans are guaranteed
    to provide you with a little help from me and still
    had plenty of fight in it for a use that the community would really like to fish.
    Seagulls fishing rod kmart streaked past A big brohaha has been unfolding with respect to spotted seatrout and
    some proposed new regulations. Three more chub were landed, aall on the
    meat rod with the best falling to Kyyle at 3. How fishing rod kmart
    much drop are you talking at 1, 800 metres.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


