Cherry Yogurt Pound Cake

July 15, 2009 at 10:37 am 8 comments

Cherry Yogurt Pound Cake

Hey, guess what?  I’m in England right now!  Yep, that’s right.  I’m traversing the pond to take a whirlwind tour of gardens of the U.K.   Among them is a personal Mecca of mine – Perch Hill Farm.  Can’t wait to get back and tell you all about it!  In the meantime, here’s a new recipe to keep you occupied. 

All the ingredients

Ah, pound cake.  And not just any pound cake, but one made with fresh local eggs and sweet cherries.  It’s unreasonable to expect those in a room with this cake to display any shred of self-control.  Fortunately, I had several friends who got treated with slices of this Cherry Yogurt Pound Cake so there was very little left for me to consume.   Pound cake, while decadent, is no friend to the waistline.  It’s got “pound” in the name for a reason. 

cherry pits

While I was successful in keeping my mits off too much of this cake, I can’t say the same for the cherries.  In fact, I’m a tad ashamed to admit that I bought two quarts from Ben and the crew at Three Springs Fruit Farm and this recipe only calls for two cups… guess where the other six cups went within the course of a mere hour?!?!  That’s right.  In my belly!

Pail of Cherries and Platter of Cake

I can’t help it.  I just adore cherries, both sweet and sour.  I know I’m a bit eccentric, but does anyone else like how they stain your teeth and fingers purple?  What a hoot! 

I also adore this cake.  It’s dense and mega moist.  It’s not overly sweet so a spoonful of sweetened soft cream is the perfect garnish.  While the introduction of the Greek yogurt into the recipe does lighten it up just a touch (the yogurt replaces a stick of butter), I really put it in for the slight tang it adds.   The cherries are subtle in flavor, but bold in appearance, making this a beautiful cake worthy of any special occasion.    

Slice of cake

Cherry Yogurt Pound Cake 
Adapted from Martha Stewart Living, July 2009

3 sticks unsalted butter, softened
2 C. sugar
1 t. pure vanilla extract
½ C. plain Greek yogurt
9 eggs, room temperature
3 ¼ C. all-purpose flour
1 T. coarse salt
1 t. cinnamon
½ t. freshly ground nutmeg
2 C. fresh sweet cherries, pitted and chopped
2 T. flour
Sugar for dusting

* Make sure your eggs and butter have been sitting out on the counter for at least an hour before starting to make the cake. 

Preheat the oven to 325 F.  Butter two 5 x 9 loaf pans and set aside.

Cream butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl with the mixer on high speed.  Beat until fluffy and pale, about 8 minutes.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.  Add the vanilla extract and yogurt and beat on medium speed to combine. 

Add the eggs, 2 at a time, mixing well after each addition.  In a separate bowl (or use a ziplock bag like I do), combine the flour, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Add dry ingredients in 4 batches, mixing until just barely combined. 

Toss the chopped cherries with the 2 tablespoons of flour.  Fold into the cake batter and distribute batter evenly between pans (they will be pretty full as the cake doesn’t rise much).  Tap each pan lightly on the counter and smooth the tops with a spatula.  Dust tops with sugar.

Bake until a tester inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean, about 60-70 minutes.  Let cool in pans for 30 minutes and then remove pans and let cool completely before cutting. 

(serves 24)

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , .

Simple Supper Treasure

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lo  |  July 15, 2009 at 10:59 am

    I’m with you when it comes to adoring cherries. Including the way they make everything purple!

    And I’m also a huge fan of yogurt cakes. This one looks particularly delicious!

    Reply
    • 2. Jennie  |  July 30, 2009 at 11:14 am

      Good to know I’m not alone! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. becky and the beanstock  |  July 15, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    I am so with you on the cherry addiction — I can’t get enough of them at this time of year. Here’s some craziness — last year I went to Mt. Rainer because I wanted those cherries — locally. So totally worth it. On the other hand I’m really weird about fruit in dessert – except when it comes to cherries. I’ll eat them in pie, cake, tarts (but not ice cream) so this is a winner recipe. Just saw the first cherries at the market too, so I’ll be able to try it soon.

    Reply
  • 4. Amy  |  July 19, 2009 at 7:17 am

    I made this for some guests this weekend and it was a huge success!!! SOO tasty!

    Reply
  • 5. Bajki  |  July 20, 2009 at 5:03 am

    Don’t you even show that to me! I’m trying to lose some weight and even looking at this makes me hungry. Looks delicious btw🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Cherry Yogurt Pound Cake « Voila!  |  July 21, 2009 at 8:59 am

    […] Recipe adapted from Straight From the Farm 3 sticks unsalted butter, softened 2 cups sugar 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract ½ cup plain Greek […]

    Reply
  • 7. Farmer Ben  |  July 29, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Huzzah! That looks like an awesome recipe! So glad I “refound” your url! To just add something to another user’s comment, we have Rainer Cherries in the ground this year. The reason you cannot find them locally (except for Weaver’s Orchards, Morgantown, PA – my cherry mentor and friend in the business), is because white cherries, Rainers more than any, crack in early summer rainstorms. The moisture and the heat make the fruit grow so fast that they crack. We plan on growing them under high tunnels (similarly to Weaver’s) so that we eliminate that variable, choosing instead to irrigate at ground level.

    Big, firm local Rainer cherries – estimated time of arrival 2011 (2012 in earnest)!

    -FB

    Reply
    • 8. Jennie  |  July 30, 2009 at 11:13 am

      hey Ben! Yay, glad you found the recipe/url! I adore all your fruit so will be making more fun stuff with it throughout the summer. Check back often. 🙂 Thanks for the info on Rainer cherries. I hadn’t realized you were giving them a go. Good luck and i’ll look forward to 2012!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


