Tomato Pie

September 12, 2009 at 3:19 pm 15 comments

Tomato Pie

As the growing season winds down, I’m trying my best to savor some of the flavors of summer that I’ll soon be missing when the cold weather comes.  Tomatoes are always quintessential to summer dining.  Unfortunately it was a bad year around here for locally grown tomatoes with that nasty blight wiping them out, including those in my vegetable garden.   My salvation has been the two potted tomatoes on my deck, which have been producing a bumper crop despite being confined to a container.   With compost mixed into the potting soil and a weekly soaking with an organic solution of compost tea, they have been real troopers.   I’m growing ‘Super Bush’ from Renee’s Garden Seeds because this variety has been bred to handle containers with gusto.   While they can’t begin to compare to a juicy flavorful heirloom tomato, these Super Bush have surprised me with their longevity and the truly outstanding sauce they make. 

Sauce ingredients

So to celebrate this bumper crop of a summery favorite, I decided to make another local seasonal favorite – tomato pie.  Now, I realize when some of you read “tomato pie”  you’re expecting something like this that Elise made.   As delicious as her recipe looks, tomato pie can only be one thing in my house:  a version of pizza topped simply with fresh homemade tomato sauce.   Around Philadelphia, this Sicilian-inspired pizza pie is a staple in any respectable pizzeria or Italian bakery.   It’s always prepared in a rectangular shape and usually served cold or at room temperature with a light dusting of grated parmesan just before it’s boxed up or dished out.  

Sauce a simmerin

Since there are no gooey cheeses or droves of toppings, the seasoning of the sauce is crucial to a good tomato pie.  I put heaps of basil and oregano in mine, along with plenty of garlic.  I also like to use a red onion instead of yellow because it tempers the acidity of the tomatoes, adding greater complexity to the flavors.  And finally, my secret ingredient is a carrot!    By adding a chopped up carrot to the sauce as it simmers, a hint of sweetness comes into its undertones that is a perfect complement to the yeasty sweetness of the crunchy crust. 

Sauce spread on dough

As with any pizza, working with the dough can be intimidating for anyone just getting started with homemade tomato pie.  I try to take a very relaxed and zen approach to it.  I never aim for perfection when rolling it and shaping it, though getting it as thin as possible is always the goal.  Over many years of failures and successes, I’ve learned that the real trick to a good crust is the oven.  You don’t need a fancy wood-fired oven (though if you have one can I be your new best friend?), but you do need a hot regular old oven.   Make sure you pre-heat your oven at its hottest possible temperature and also pre-heat your pan or stone at the same time.   When the dough hits that hot surface in that hot chamber, it has no choice but to puff up and get airy and crisp.    Just be sure to watch your pizza/pie closely as it will go from “perfect golden and crunchy” to “charred inedible slab” in just a few minutes. 

Prepping for pizza

Oh, and when cutting a tomato pie, you must make square slices.  It’s the rule.  Don’t know why.  It just is.  While my personal preference is to snack on cold slices in the afternoon, it’s fun to serve tomato pie at parties or for dinner with other types of pizza.  One of my Italian-American friends loves to grill slices at his big summer picnic, and it’s very tasty with just the bottom of the crust warmed up and a little bit charred.  Mmmmmmm. 

Tomato Pie and Slices

 

Tomato Pie
A Straight from the Farm Original

1 batch of pizza dough
2 T. extra virgin olive oil
3 cloves of garlic. finely minced
1 large red onion, diced
6-8 medium tomatoes, chopped
1 large carrot, chopped
1 large bunch of fresh basil, chopped (about 2 T.)
1 T. minced fresh oregano
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Heat the oil in a large deep skillet over medium heat.  When it is hot, add the garlic and sautee for a minute (do not allow it to brown) before adding the diced onion.  Stir and season with a pinch of salt.  Cook onions until they are soft.   Add the chopped tomatoes and carrot and bring the sauce to a boil before lowering the heat to its lowest setting.   Stir and season with another pinch of salt and a few grinds of black pepper.  Stir every 10 minutes or so and allow sauce to simmer until it thickens, about 30 minutes, depending on the moisture content of the tomatoes. 

When the sauce has thickened, either use a potato masher or a stick blender to smooth it out a bit if desired (I leave mine fairly chunky) .  Add the basil and oregano, stirring and simmering for another minute before turning off the heat.   Taste the sauce and add more salt and pepper as desired.   Allow sauce to sit for at least 15 minutes to let the flavors merge.   At this point you can put the sauce in jars or tupperware and store it in the fridge for up to a week, though it tastes best if eaten within 24 hours. 

Adjust the oven rack to the lowest position and put in the baking stone or tray you’ll be using.  Preheat oven at highest temperature possible while you prepare the pie. 

To make the tomato pie, generously dust the surface of a pizza peel (or try a sturdy piece of heavy cardboard) with flour.  On a floured countertop, roll out the dough as thinly as possible  into a large rectangle and place it on the pizza peel or other board.  Give the peel/board a little wiggle to make sure the dough can slide freely.  If it doesn’t, lift it gently and toss a little more flour under it. 

Spoon tomato sauce onto the center of the dough and use the back of the spoon to spread it out, leaving a one inch rim around the edges.  Don’t skimp on the sauce – remember its all you’ll have on this crust.   Pull out your oven rack and carefully slide the pie directly onto the baking stone or tray in the hot oven.  Turn heat down to 450 F.  Bake for 8-10 minutes, checking after a few minutes to rotate if one side is browning faster than the other.

When the crust is golden, remove from oven and allow to cool completely.  Slice  into squares, dust with grated parmesan cheese and serve.  It’s good cold out of the fridge, at room temperature or hot off a grill. 

(serves 12)

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Summer Chowder Summer Plate: Fried Potatoes

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mangochild  |  September 13, 2009 at 7:07 am

    That recipe just screams summer🙂 And as it happens, I have a big pot of tomato sauce going right now that I’m making for canning, so I might just save some of the tomatoes to try your recipe!

    Reply
    • 2. Jennie  |  September 13, 2009 at 9:00 am

      Love to hear that you’re *canning* tomato sauce. I had high hopes of getting a big batch canned myself this year but there aren’t enough tomatoes coming out of my garden to put any up. Definitely give the pie a shot. I’m sure you’ll love it! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Dana  |  September 13, 2009 at 10:30 am

    That looks terrific and so wonderful to just highlight the flavor or a homegrown tomato. I have a very brown thumb, so I don’t attempt to garden, but this would have been the year for tomatoes in Seattle. All the heat and sun we had produced some wonderful specimens!

    Reply
  • 4. Stephanie  |  September 14, 2009 at 5:35 am

    I can’t wait to make this. I grew up in Phila and now live in DC. I miss that tomato pie so much. This will be my end of summer treat. I’m new to your blog and it’s fabulous!

    Reply
  • 5. mcaules24  |  September 14, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    This looks phenomenal!
    I love all the home grown stuff, always tastes the best, and I would love to try this recipe.
    Looks pretty darned good!

    Reply
  • 6. albany moving companies  |  September 15, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Wow, that looks delicious! I was just planning on making a homemade pizza soon and this looks like a great variation.

    Reply
  • 7. Jason  |  September 16, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Nummy! That looks spectacular. I was the proud recipient of a basket of homegrown tomatoes from an out-of-state relative, recently, and I enjoyed turning the lot of them into pasta and pizza sauce for the freezer. I’m looking forward to summer memories, this winter!

    Your tomatoes look great, by the way. My one experiment with growing them in containers was mostly heartache. We got lots of tomatoes, but about 50% of them developed blossom end rot. I don’t think we could be persuaded to try tomatoes or peppers in containers again, but if we were to, I think we’d also look into making compost tea because I’ll bet that would combat at least some of the causes of blossom end rot.

    Reply
    • 8. Jennie  |  September 16, 2009 at 2:24 pm

      Oh no, please don’t say you won’t try tomatoes in pots again, Jason. Consistent watering is all tomatoes really need, which is tough when they are in a container. But I have a relatively easy homemade solution to that if you are relatively handy with a drill? I can send you a site that details how to build a self-watering container for water-sensitive plants (tomatoes can take up several pints a day when they are producing and suffer greatly if they don’t get it). That being said, I also got a good crop out of the two plants I had in regular old containers too, though the year was really rainy so they never got terribly stressed out. As for peppers in container, mine never seem to be happy either. Still haven’t cracked their “code”. 😦

      Reply
      • 9. Jason  |  September 17, 2009 at 7:58 am

        I would say that I was pretty consistent with the watering. Watering is something that I can do!😀 I think I usually just get too busy to feed the plants after initially getting them started in a good mix of potting soil, compost, and sphagnum. Our cherry tomatoes did just fine, but the san marzano variety we planted produced smallish tomatoes with tough skins and many of them were only usable when you chopped off the Frankensteinesque blossom end rot section. We did get some use out of them, at least. My partner has said, “We’re not going to bother growing tomatoes or peppers in containers again… it’s just not worth it.” To clarify, though, he means it’s not “worth” it because we can get such great peppers and tomatoes at our Farmer’s Market that it might make more sense to use our little bit of space to grow things we can’t get. But DO send me the link for the self-watering thingie. That sounds interesting and could help with lots of things! Thanks!

        Reply
  • 10. natalie  |  September 22, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    mmmm… we loved this, and am so excited that i have another ball of dough in my freezer for our next tomato pie! Of the three cups of flour I made two of them WW and it was still delish… might only do one cup next time to have a more authentic pizza flava’…

    Reply
    • 11. Jennie  |  September 22, 2009 at 5:00 pm

      I love that adaptation, Natalie! Good idea! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

      Reply
  • 13. Laura Ritchey  |  April 12, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    Looks delicious! I’ve been looking for a good cheese-less pizza. I think I’ll try this with some vegan ‘parmesan’ cheese sprinkled on top. Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  • 14. Joan Sullivan  |  November 30, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    I just discovered this blog while searching for information about tomato pie. In winter, if one didn’t have access to decent tomatoes, or to ones canned from the summer, would it be possible to make up a good sauce with canned tomatoes such as San Marzano tomatoes? If so, what would the substitution quantity be to use your recipe? Would you make any other adjustments for canned tomatoes? I realize the idea of canned might be “heresy” to some, but fresh are not always available, and the hothouse ones I think would be awful.

    Thank you for any insights you might have on this.

    Joan Sullivan

    Reply
  • 15. "discover here"  |  October 12, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    “discover here”

    “[…]j I have seen a lot of useful points on your web-site about pcs. However, Ive vc[…]”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


