Summer Plate: Grilled Corn Coins

September 21, 2009 at 9:38 pm 11 comments

Grilled Basil Garlic Corn Coins

I’d better hurry up and post this recipe for Grilled Basil Garlic Corn Coins.  I realize the last days of fresh-picked local corn on the cob are upon us, at least for this season.   This second dish on my recently full summer plate is the perfect way to savor those last few ears that show up at the farmers market.  Because the grilling imparts a smokey and more savory flavor to the corn, it’s a good preparation for corn that’s reached its end and may not be as sweet as it once was when the season was young.   Plus it just looks beautiful cut into coins like this, doesn’t it?   Good way to impress your dinner guests. 

Farm Triptych

I spent the weekend with my family at the farm and enjoyed plenty of funny moments watching my young niece and nephew cover their faces in corn as they raced to eat their ears like typewriters.  There was also a race to eat the most watermelon the fastest.  I won that one, of course.   Spending time there at the farm, immersed in nature and family, is always rejuvenating for my soul.  Most weekends, D can attest to my groans come Sunday evening, when I rather predictably mutter something to the effect that the weekend went way to fast.  While I was visiting with my family, enjoying working alongside my mom on some projects, picking the tail end of the garden harvests with my dad, and taking sun-kissed walks with the family dog, I was amazed at how long the days felt, stretching on for hours in the best way possible.  Something about the beauty of wide open fields and the low light of autumn that slows the clock’s hands. 

Farm diptych

In those fields was plenty of corn, mostly the kind you feed to cows and pigs.  But tucked in a few places are stands of sweet corn.  My parents still use the same picking bag, made of an old feed sack, that my great grandmother had sewn long before I was born.  It’s an interesting design, one that slings over your shoulder like a messenger’s bag, but it’s completely sewn shut save for a relatively small hold by the strap on one end.  This hole is just big enough to slid an ear of corn through lengthwise, and yet because it’s narrow enough that you can bend over and move freely without worrying about spilling out your load.  Ingenious, no?  

Corn in Husks

I guess it was being back at “ground zero” for all my food origins that really stirred up so many memories about how we used to pick a shocking amount of corn as a family on summer evenings and then sit around in a circle on lawn chairs outside to husk, brush and cut out any worms or bad spots (yes, an ear of corn with a worm on it is still a perfectly edible ear, just get rid of the worm).  Once we had our large basins stacked full of pristine ears, mom would set large kettles of water on to boil and the ears would be blanched, first dunked in the boiling water and then in large tubs of ice water, before being cut off the cob and frozen or canned for using later that winter.  It was a lot of work, but when there were so many hands helping, it went by fast and with relative fun.   My brother and I loved to watch my mom use her very sharp knife to cut the entire length of the cob without breaking the line of kernels coming off (it’s hard to explain but if you’ve cut corn off the cob, you’ll understand).  I loved to eat those big long pieces right out of her basin.    Each morsel was so so sweet, having barely left the stalk in the field before reaching my greedy mouth. 

Cutting coins

So go get your fill of summer before it’s all gone.  There’s still plenty of delicious local food to be had before we’ll need to resort to our canned and frozen stashes.  That being said, now’s a great time to go to your garden or the farmers market and pick plenty of extras of what you love to take into the kitchen to preserve.   Corn in particular can be frozen (as generally described above), canned (good outline here), or even dried in your oven as I’ve talked about before. 

Grilled Corn Coins

Grilled Basil Garlic Corn Coins
A Straight from the Farm Original

4 ears of fresh corn
3 T. butter
3 cloves of garlic
3 T. finely chopped fresh basil
1 t. salt
fresh chopped parsley to garnish

Bring a large pot of water to a rolling boil.  While you wait, husk and clean the ears of corn.  Place ears in the pot and boil for 4-5 minutes.  Use tongs to remove and let cool for a few minutes.

In a small saucepan, melt the butter over low heat.  Use a garlic press or sharp knife to prepare the garlic, getting it as close to a paste as possible.  Add it to the hot melted butter and cook just a minute until it starts to turn golden.   Remove from heat and add the chopped basil.  Swirl and let stand while you cut the corn. 

Using a very sharp knife, very carefully cut the corn into round “coins” about an inch thick.   Place them in a bowl and pour the basil garlic butter over them.  Toss with your hands. 

Preheat your grill or grill pan to medium-high heat.  Use tongs to place the coins flat on the hot grill in a single layer.  Allow to cook until nice dark grill marks form, about 5 minutes.  Turn over and do the same for the other side.  Sprinkle with the salt.   Remove from heat and stack on a serving plate.   Sprinkle with chopped parsley and serve immediately. 

(serves 4)

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Summer Plate: Fried Potatoes Summer Plate: Warm Beet Salad

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  September 22, 2009 at 6:31 am

    Great idea-I’ll have to make these coins this week before we say bye to the corn! Thanks for the idea, beautiful pictures as always!

    Reply
    • 2. Jennie  |  September 22, 2009 at 5:00 pm

      Thanks, Sarah! Glad you like the “coins” and hope you’ll try them soon.

      Reply
  • 3. Joel  |  September 22, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Being from Nebraska, the cornhusker state, I enjoy a good fresh corn dish. My favorite way is raw, but these coins look like they’d be whimsical with scallops or shrimp! Yum!

    Reply
    • 4. Jennie  |  September 23, 2009 at 8:41 pm

      Raw-raw, Joel? Not blanched a little at least? I don’t know if I’ve ever just tucked into a raw ear without giving it a quick bath in boiling water at least. I might have to try that!

      Reply
  • 5. Louise  |  September 26, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Ingenious or should I say Ingenuity-ious:) Can corn coins look “darling?”

    Thank you for sharing your intimate memories of time on the farm. My daughter just sent me a video of the grandkids watching their first potato harvest up close in Idaho. (They were gleaning I think she said) I could hear their awe in the background. I wish I could have been there to watch there glee. I know a lasting memory was instilled. Thanks again Jennie:)

    P.S. I know exactly what you mean about getting the kernels in a row. Something like paring an apple all in one peeling as in Sleepless in Seattle:) That corn bag sounds like patent material, LOL

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend…

    Reply
  • 6. Jessica Lee Binder  |  September 27, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I feel summer slipping away and I’m so sad. Your grilled corn coins look like pretty flowers.

    I read “the cook” and “garden & farm” pages and it’s so inspirational. Having grown up in NYC, I know so little about farming but I’m interested in getting my hands dirty. Your farm is hours away from me, but I’m going to look for something closer. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 7. Summer Plate: Warm Beet Salad « Straight from the Farm  |  September 27, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    […] Summer Plate: Grilled Corn Coins […]

    Reply
  • 8. Marcella  |  October 1, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Yum! We tried these this weekend with corn fresh from the farmers market and it was delicious. Thanks for sharing it!

    Reply
  • 9. morningerection  |  October 7, 2009 at 9:23 am

    What a great idea. Kids and adults will love this. I have to bookmark so I remember next year to do it. I imagine cutting the cobs can’t be too easy.

    Reply
  • 10. Nourishing Words  |  August 7, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Beautiful! I’ve been grilling my sweet corn lately, straight up, full ears, with no preparation other than shucking. It gets nice and carmelized and tastes great with butter or olive oil and salt. This is a much fancier presentation, and the basil is a great addition. I wonder if I could get away without that pre-boiling step….

    Reply
  • 11. Cathy  |  August 5, 2014 at 8:47 am

    Delicious! I prepped the corn earlier in the day & put the rounds on the BBQ just before we ate. So sweet that they could have been dessert!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


