From the Archives: Pumpkin Pie Truffles

December 9, 2009 at 9:22 pm 16 comments

Taste a truffle

I recently made another batch of these Pumpkn Pie Truffles for a holiday event and was reminded by all the “ohmygosh” comments that this is a recipe worth revisiting, especially around the holidays when homemade edible gifts are very handy to have for those sometimes tough-to-buy-for coworkers, neighbors, and hostesses.    Below is the recipe, but if you’d like to read more about how it was developed, stop on over at the original post in the archives

Pumpkin Pie Truffles

PUMPKIN PIE TRUFFLES
A Straight from the Farm Original

5 c. white chocolate
1/3 c. fresh pumpkin puree
14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk
1 T. brandy or cognac
1 vanilla bean
3 t. cinnamon
1 t. freshly ground nutmeg
1/2 t. ground cloves
1/2 c. graham cracker crumbs
1/2 c. gingersnap crumbs
4 oz. dark chocolate

In a double boiler or large heavy saucepan, warm the condensed milk over low heat.  Add the vanilla bean and allow to steep for a minute or two.  Add the white chocolate and stir until it is melted and smooth.  Add pumpkin and brandy/cognac and stir to combine.  Stir in the remaining spices and remove from heat. 

Chill mixture uncovered for an hour or until it sets up and rolls easily into 1 inch balls using your hands, placing truffles on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper.  Place half of the truffles in the freezer while you coat the other half.  Combine the graham cracker and gingersnap crumbs together and roll half the truffles in the crumbs (the crumbs should adhere to the sticky surface you created when you rolled the truffles in your hands).  

Melt the dark chocolate in a double boiler or in the microwave using 30 second intervals until smooth.  Pull the uncoated truffles out of the freezer and use a fork to roll them in the dark chocolate until evenly coated.  Place back on the wax paper/tray to harden. 

Store all truffles in an air tight container in the fridge.  Package in a nice box and present as a gift to your holiday party hosts or coworkers.   

(makes 50-60 truffles)

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , .

Quince Jam Pear Caramel Ice Cream

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Food-Fitness-FreshAir  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:01 am

    I finally figured out what I’ll be doing with that can of pumpkin I just picked up (yes, I don’t have any fresh pumpkins to use….but I do have a can)…I’ll be making this! This sounds delicious. Quite a different take on original truffles, which is why this recipe so intrigues me.

    Reply
  • 2. Sonia  |  December 13, 2009 at 1:55 am

    I am definitely making these next week!

    Reply
  • 3. Louise  |  December 13, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Hi Jennie,

    An intriguing recipe indeed! I love the mixture of ginger snaps and graham crackers. I may just be capable of making these.

    Thanks for sharing…

    P.S. Cute little picture flakes:) No snow in New York, YET!!!

    Reply
    • 4. Jennie  |  December 15, 2009 at 8:07 am

      Hi Louise!! Happy Holidays to you and yours there in NY! I’m sure you’re capable of making these truffles. You must have loads to write about on your blog in December, which reminds me that I should get on over there to have a nice long catch-up read. 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. tastyeatsathome  |  December 14, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    Oh my, I would definitely swoon over these! They sound and look amazing. Great idea.

    Reply
    • 6. Jennie  |  December 15, 2009 at 8:05 am

      Thanks, Tasty!

      Reply
  • 7. Lynn at The Actors Diet  |  December 15, 2009 at 12:10 am

    wow these look amazing! i’m all about anything pumpkin.

    Reply
    • 8. Jennie  |  December 15, 2009 at 8:04 am

      Ah, a kindred spirit….pumpkin is the food of the gods, is it not? 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Preserving Pumpkin « Straight from the Farm  |  December 16, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    […] one indeed.   This pumpkin puree can be used in pumpkin rolls, pies, smoothies, ice cream, truffles, bread puddings, risotto, soup, sauces… once it’s in your freezer, you can let you mind […]

    Reply
  • 10. Lauren  |  December 18, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Hello! I happened to just stumble upon your site recently, and I am completely enthralled (much to the dismay of my bosses!)! Beautiful pictures and wonderful recipes that I cannot wait to try. Will be trying these fun little truffles tomorrow, as I agree with Lynn, I am absolutely all about anything pumpkin (including beer which is fabulous!). Thanks!

    Reply
  • 11. stephanja  |  December 22, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Thanks so much for the recipe! I can’t wait to try them!

    Reply
  • 12. stephanja  |  December 22, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    These worked out great and my family loved them..the only thing I did different is I folllowed the chocolate dipped truffles directions and then rolled them in the graham cracker crumbs after the chocolate. The chocolate balanced out the sweetness of the white chocolate center nicely. I don’t like dark chocolate so I used milk, but really I think the dark chocolate contrast would have been better. And I liked having the added crunchiness of the graham cracker crumbs. My only advice is make the balls of filling very small because they almost double in size with both the chocolate and graham cracker crumbs! (Of course I was also generous with the milk chocolate as the white chocolate was just way too sweet for me alone.) I could only eat half of one..very sweet dessert! I also ended up using about 3 bags of chocolate chips (melted) for about 70 truffles..quite a deal more than the recipe calls for. GREAT with milk..I will definately make again. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

    Reply
  • 13. Multigrain Pumpkin Pancakes « Straight from the Farm  |  December 24, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    […] pancakes and had a bit of thawed-out pumpkin puree left over from another batch of those delicious Pumpkin Pie Truffles.  I thought I’d throw the pumpkin in the pancake batter and add some warm spices to […]

    Reply
  • 14. Pumpkin Bread… « Straight from the Farm  |  January 16, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    […] I decided to make a quick bread as I still haven’t completely satisfied my craving for all things pumpkin.  And to add to the indulgence, both in flavor and in just enjoying myself on a lazy […]

    Reply
  • 15. A Chocolate Review « Straight from the Farm  |  November 24, 2010 at 11:28 am

    […] bite, especially of the Spiced Pumpkin because I am a self-proclaimed pumpkin nut and creator of a decadent pumpkin pie truffle that’s just sensational (that’s not me saying that, I promise).  So, I bit into a […]

    Reply
  • 16. Pandaranol A Chocolate Review  |  June 28, 2011 at 11:59 am

    […] bite, especially of the Spiced Pumpkin because I am a self-proclaimed pumpkin nut and creator of a decadent pumpkin pie truffle that’s just sensational (that’s not me saying that, I promise).  So, I bit into a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


