Multigrain Pumpkin Pancakes

December 24, 2009 at 11:40 pm 19 comments

Ingredients and a Stack

Here we are on the eve of one of the biggest holidays of the year and I thought I’d give you a little recipe that you can use to feed all those guests popping their rumpled heads into your kitchen each morning (or, if you’re a guest and you want to do something nice for your host).   Who doesn’t love a big hot stack of made-from-scratch pancakes?  You’ll be an instant hero to everyone at the table.

Making me hungry

Several years ago I was inspired to throw a combo New Year’s Eve party and a New Year’s Day brunch…the idea was that guests would come, drink, be merry, crash on the floor, sleep, wake up to the smell of amazing food and dark coffee, and come gather in the kitchen to nurse their hangovers in style.  Well, I have to say, the plan worked beautifully and everyone had a blast starting the new year right.   While planning that brunch (with a huge menu that I might have been wise to par down had I contemplated my own hangover that morning), I developed a recipe for multigrain pancakes that would really soak up the rest of the alcohol in everyone’s stomaches.   The pancakes that New Year’s morning did their job beautifully and I’ve made them my go-to ever since.

Batter and close up

Last weekend, while snowed in (yah for “real” winters!), I got a hankering for pancakes and had a bit of thawed-out pumpkin puree left over from another batch of those delicious Pumpkin Pie Truffles.  I thought I’d throw the pumpkin in the pancake batter and add some warm spices to accentuate the flavors and make these filling flap jacks even more delicious.   The result was a tall stack of beautifully hued, thick, dense discs that are not terribly sweet…perfect winter comfort food for a lazy day. 

Take a bite

Now, I realize there has been quite a parade of pumpkin recipes on SFTF as of late.  If you’re not the passionate pumpkin promoter that I am, you could easily adapt this recipe to include other delicious flavors…toss in a cup of frozen blueberries you picked last summer to remind you of warmer days; pop in a generous handful or two of fresh cranberries if you can still find them to fit this red-bedecked season; use up that bunch of overripe bananas that have been sitting unloved thanks to all the holiday sweets on hand (mash them up like you would to make banana bread and mix it into the batter); or make a plain batch and slather them with some local pear or apple butter and a drizzle of honey.  

Pumpkin pancakes

A great time-saver for me, since this recipe calls for a good number of ingredients, is to mix up all the dry ingredients in ziplock bags (labeled and dated of course) and stash several of these away so in the mornings when I want to make them, there’s a lot less measuring to do.  This is especially important when you’re also trying to drink that first cup of coffee to get your engines running so you can do a decent job of flipping these babies. 

Dare I be predictable and say MERRY CHRISTMAS to you all?  May you all have flavorful feasts with family and friends!!

Multigrain Pumpkin Pancakes
A Straight from the Farm Original

1 T. baking powder
1 t. salt
1/2 C. whole wheat flour
1/2 C. unbleached white flour
1/4 C. rolled oats
1/4 C. cornmeal
1 T. cinnamon
1/2 t. freshly ground nutmeg
1/2 t. ground allspice
3 eggs, lightly beaten
 2 T. dark brown sugar
2 T. honey
1/2 C. pumpkin puree
1/2 C. plain Greek yogurt
3/4 C. low-fat buttermilk
1 T. melted butter
1/4 C. mini chocolate chips (optional)

In a bowl or a ziplock bag, combine the baking powder, salt, whole wheat flour, white flour, rolled oats, cornmeal, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. 

Combine the eggs and sugar in a large bowl and whisk until sugar is dissolved.  Now add the honey, pumpkin, yogurt, buttermilk, and melted butter and whisk well.    Fold in the dry ingredient mixture  just until moistened.  Do not over mix! 

Drop batter onto a hot, nonstick skillet.  Cook over medium heat until bubbles start to form on the edges of the pancakes.  Flip and cook for another minute.  Serve hot or keep warm wrapped in foil in an oven on the lowest setting. 

(serves 4)

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , .

Grandma’s Pumpkin Pie Top 10 for 2009

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eddie  |  December 25, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Those pancakes sound terrific! I want the whole stack (multigrain = healthy, right?)

    Reply
  • 2. Ubieranki  |  December 25, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    I looooove pancakes, yours look so delicious! :))

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  December 25, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Thanks, Eddie & Uieranki! And, yes, multigrain=healthy.🙂 Not to mention the pumpkin is packed with vitamins and fiber!

    Reply
  • 4. Donna Earnshaw  |  December 26, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Looks delicious! I have made pumpkin sourdough bread quite alot lately. I love anything with pumpkin!

    Reply
    • 5. Jennie  |  December 26, 2009 at 6:55 pm

      Oooo, Donna, do share your recipe if you don’t mind!

      Reply
      • 6. Donna Earnshaw  |  December 27, 2009 at 9:15 am

        Absolutely, it comes from Beth Hensperger’s bread machine cookbook. My bread machine is my new favorite toy.

        You start wwith 3/4 cup of starter. You make the starter from 1 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup warm water, 3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar, 1/8 tsp. yeast and 3/4 cup flour. Wisk the sour cream and water, add vinegar and yeast, add flour until it is like pancake batter. You have to let this sit for at least 48 hours.

        To the starter you add 1 cup of canned pumpkin puree, 1/4 cup of water,2 tablespoons of nut or vegetable oil. Then you add 3 1/2 cups of bread flour,3 tablespoons of brown sugar, 2 teaspoons of apple pie spice, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt and 1 1/4 teaspoons of SAF yeast or 2 1/4 teaspoons bread machine yeast.

        I use a bread machine so would not know how to adapt it for those who are doing it by hand. We know some may feel bread machines are cheating but we got over that.

        http://www.catfishandwaffles.com/2009/10/22/not-a-doorstop/

        My favorite way to eat this is with cream cheese and home made applesauce.

        http://www.catfishandwaffles.com/2009/11/22/applesauce/

        Enjoy and let me know how you like it!

        Reply
  • 7. Food-Fitness-FreshAir  |  December 27, 2009 at 10:36 am

    I love to make my own pancakes because it allows me to make them using whole wheat flour without them tasting like a substandard boxed version of traditional pancakes. I too often add in yogurt. I bet the pumpkin makes these super nice and moist. Looks like a good recipe. I’m going to bookmark this one!

    Reply
  • 8. therunninggarlic  |  December 27, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    I have 2 teens home from college and they would absolutely love these pancakes. Food is now such a top priority for them being away … they love Mom’s cooking!

    Reply
  • 9. tastyeatsathome  |  December 28, 2009 at 11:24 am

    I for one am not unhappy in the slightest about the pumpkin recipes! I love pumpkin – and these sound delicious!

    Reply
  • 10. Diana @ frontyardfoodie  |  December 28, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    My family does a pancake breakfast every year on New Years! haha, it’s one of my favorite traditions and it definitely never gets old. Only we do food from our ancestors. My family does Swedish pancakes and our friends do Norwegian. Each year the party grows to more people with more contributions!

    Reply
  • 11. Jason's BBQ Adventures  |  December 29, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Looks like an amazing recipe. Love the flavor of pumpkin.

    Reply
  • 12. BNDQ8  |  December 30, 2009 at 8:02 am

    i have never tried pancakes made of pumpkins..but it looks delicious!!🙂
    wish u a very happy new year !!!

    Reply
  • 13. Maris (In Good Taste)  |  January 3, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    I just stopped by from Simply Recipes and I love your blog! I live in Chicago and can’t wait for the summer when there are tons of Farmer’s Markets to buy fresh produce.

    Reply
    • 14. Jennie  |  January 4, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      Welcome, Maris! Glad you found the blog…if you enjoy Simply Recipes (one of my favs), then you’ll definitely find more than a few recipes to try here. 🙂

      Reply
  • […] Multigrain Pumpkin Pancakes « Straight from the Farm. Hello there! If you are new here, you might want to subscribe to the RSS feed for great food updates. […]

    Reply
  • 16. Pumpkin Bread… « Straight from the Farm  |  January 16, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    […] to make a quick bread as I still haven’t completely satisfied my craving for all things pumpkin.  And to add to the indulgence, both in flavor and in just enjoying myself on a lazy weekend, I […]

    Reply
  • 17. sam  |  November 4, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Sounds like a great recipe. Can’t wait to try it. Can you tell me if the honey in the ingredient list goes into the batter or is it used like syrup?

    Reply
    • 18. Jennie  |  November 4, 2010 at 4:22 pm

      Woops, that was a miss on my part…it goes into the batter. I’ve corrected the directions. Happy pancake flippin’.🙂

      Reply
      • 19. sam  |  November 6, 2010 at 11:09 am

        Thanks for the clarification. Tried them this morning–they are so easy and so good. Thank you for recipe.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


