Rhubarb Lemon Sponge Pie

May 6, 2010 at 6:52 am 8 comments

Ingredients and Pie

Rhubarb has been piling up in my fridge as the plants in the garden go bonkers this spring.  It is absolutely amazing how fast these plants grow.  The crimson stalks seem to appear overnight and if left to their own devices for a week, they’ll triple in size!   Since I can’t possibly keep up with the harvest in “real time”, I have taken to making big jars of the rhubarb coulis that I included in the last post’s recipe.  The coulis lasts in the fridge for quite some time (so far three weeks) and is wonderful for so many dishes, including drizzled over a big bowl of vanilla ice cream.  Mmmm….  

Rhubarb Lemon Sponge Pie

Strawberries have somehow always been the most common pairing for rhubarb, but I would argue this is an injustice to the rhubarb since the strawberries really tend to mask the tart complexity of the rhubarb.  Still, having all this rhubarb around the house got me in the mood for pie.  At first I was going to settle for straight rhubarb pie, but as I was writing out my shopping list, I started thinking more about my favorite kinds of pie and why I like them.  I don’t particularly like pies with a crust on top; nor do I really like pies that have chunks and juices that act like strangers once you cut a slice.   My favorite pies all seem to be dense and custardy, probably thanks, at least in part, to growing up with my Grandmother’s amazing pumpkin pie.

Rhubarb Lemon Sponge Pie Triptych

So, once I realized that a straight rhubarb pie was going to yield a pie that wasn’t, on principle, really to my liking consistency-wise, I decided to think about using the rhubarb coulis in some sort of custard pie instead.   Unlike strawberries, lemons seemed a good teammate for this pie project since they compliment the rhubarb’s natural flavors.  Lemon sponge pie is my go-to pie for any time I need a quick dessert to take to a potluck or to have on hand for company.  Adapting it to add the rhubarb coulis was easy…as pie. 

Slice of Pie

Rhubarb Lemon Sponge Pie
A Straight from the Farm Original

2 (9-inch) unbaked deep dish pie crusts*
3 T. unsalted butter, softened
1 1/4 C. sugar
4 eggs, separated into yolks and whites
3 T. all-purpose flour
1 1/4 C. milk
2 T. grated lemon zest
juice of one lemon (about a 1/4 cup)
pinch of salt
2/3 C. rhubarb coulis

*Pre-made pie shells from the store’s freezer section work just fine here.

Preheat oven to 375 F and lower the rack.  In a medium bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form.   Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the egg yolks and mix well.  Add the flour, milk, lemon zest, lemon juice, and salt, mixing until well combined.  Gently fold in the egg whites. 

Pour the mixture into the pie shells.  Divided between the two pies, spoon the rhubarb coulis over the filling and use a table knife to swirl it around a bit (like you would if you were making a marble cake). 

Bake for 15 minutes and then reduce the oven temperature to 300 F.  Bake for an additional 45 minutes or until the top is dark golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Let cool before serving.  Flavor is best when chilled.  Store in the fridge with plastic wrap on top.   A dollop of fresh whipped cream never hurts when serving.

(serves 16)

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , .

Rhubarb Napoleons Chocolate Rhubarb Pots de Creme

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diana @ frontyardfoodie  |  May 6, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    I have been seeing so many rhubarb recipes popping up lately and I realized that I should probably plant some of those in my garden so I can have more access to them!

    Reply
  • 2. Joanne  |  May 6, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    I have great love for fruity pies but also a longstanding love affair with all things custard. I love how you combine the two here..and that you take rhubarb out of its natural element.

    Reply
  • 3. Cathy  |  May 10, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    I’m so glad I just found your blog! Wonderful recipes and pics. Can’t wait to check out the archives!

    Reply
  • 4. shayma  |  May 21, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    so beautiful. your blog is like looking at a book of art. x shayma

    Reply
  • 5. Joanna  |  May 30, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    What do you think about freezing the rhubarb coulis? I got a huge bunch of half-cracked stalks at the end of yesterday’s market…

    Reply
    • 6. Jennie  |  May 30, 2010 at 2:56 pm

      I think that would work just fine if you have the freezer space. Stock up!

      Reply
      • 7. Joanna  |  May 31, 2010 at 8:55 am

        I don’t have a lot of freezer space, but I think I can fit in a little jar to facilitate rhubarb adventures some other time this year… The pie disappeared at my boss’ block party yesterday!

        Reply
  • 8. Grow. Cook. Eat. August 11 | DigginFood  |  June 11, 2010 at 9:22 am

    […] Farm? It is one of my very favorite blogs. The site features a treasure trove of seasonal recipes (rhubarb lemon sponge pie, anyone?) and gorgeous photos. It is an absolute […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


