For the Four Eyes

June 9, 2008 at 8:52 am 17 comments

Dandelion greens

No matter how much I enjoy them, I always feel a little strange about eating dandelion greens.  It’s also strange to think about somebody purposely growing dandelions, don’t you think?  But the truth is, they’re mighty tasty, in that slightly bitter way. 

Salad up close

The farm is growing dandelions for the first time this year, and the large bunch I brought home with me landed on the counter next to the mesh bag of baby red potatoes I’d just picked up at the store.  Fate would have these two ingredients married together over the course of the next hour into a hearty warm salad, one of those concoctions where I raided the fridge and threw in whatever seemed viable, including the rest of the chicory from last week.

Red potatoes

A little bit of background on dandelion greens for those of you who might be new to them.  First off, don’t harvest any from your yard or the roadside, unless you are a hundred percent and then some sure that the area they are growing in hasn’t been sprayed for a year or more.  Nutritionally speaking, dandelion greens have a notably high amount of carotene, vitamin A, and something called lutein. 

Chicory

Lutein, in case you’re curious, is a big player in the health of your eyes, warding off macular degeneration.  In fact, dandelion greens have nearly sever times more lutein in them per serving than carrots. Maybe that’s why rabbits have such good eye sight…its not the carrots but all the dandelions they’re eating out in our lawns.  Just at thought. 

Oh, and one final thing: this salad was great as cold leftovers at lunch for an entire week.  

Place setting

Red Potato and Sautéed Greens Salad
A Straight from the Farm Original

1 lb baby red potatoes
1 large bunch of dandelion greens
1 head of chicory
3 T. extra virgin olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 can white kidney beans, rinsed
Zest and juice of a lemon
2 T. ricotta
Salt and pepper to taste

Boil potatoes until tender.  Drain and slice in half.  Set aside.

While potatoes boil, trim ends of dandelion greens and chicory.  Rinse well (but do not dry) and cut into large pieces.  Heat oil in a large skillet and add garlic, stirring just until golden.  Add the greens and sauté just until wilted, about 3 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper.

Add the white kidney beans and boiled potatoes to the skillet.  Toss contents together and then add lemon zest, juice and ricotta.  Toss contents again to evenly coat.  Taste and adjust salt and pepper to taste. 

Serve either warm or chilled. 

(serves 6)

Red Potato and Sauted Greens Salad

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes, Salads. Tags: , , , , .

Blast From the Past Beat the Heat

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gintoino  |  June 9, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Looks nice, very nice! You always manage to find some new unknown vegetable for me to “what to grow”. I cant believe I’m comtemplating buying dandilion seeds to try them in my veg garden. I’ve already tried parsnips (which by the way never sprouted), and I’m looking for rutabaga seeds, just because I’ve seen them in your recipes 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  June 9, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Gintoino – I’m evil, yes? 🙂 I’m glad you are so inspired by my recipes. I feel bad though that you didn’t have any luck with the parsnips. I wonder why? I will send you some rutabaga seed if you can’t find any there. It’s fun to try new things in the garden so let me know what you want that’s not in Portugal. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Marysol  |  June 10, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Looks great. I’ve never had dandeliion greens, but I’m a big fan of healthy dishes that don’t look it.

    Reply
  • 4. Joshua Smith  |  June 11, 2008 at 10:16 am

    This recipe looks great. I’ve been thinking about dandelion since earlier this spring and this is enough to make me get up, get out and get some! Just got turned on to your site- looks great and I’ll be sure to follow up to see what other goodies you have going on!!

    Reply
  • 5. alessandra  |  June 13, 2008 at 10:17 am

    your pics are always great! what cam do you use?

    =)

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  June 13, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Thanks, Alessandra! I use a Canon Digital Rebel XTi 10.1 MP Digital SLR
    with a Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro Lens most often
    and occasionally a Canon EF 50 mmf/1.8II lens. Natural light is also key for good food photos.

    Reply
  • 7. Garfield Vollrath  |  November 12, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    Like beta-carotene, lutein is essential for the health of the eyes. ..

    Have a look at our web blog too
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/rash-on-chest/

    Reply
  • 8. 16-100 Uses For Dandelions - Best Preparedness  |  May 12, 2015 at 9:39 am

    […] 9. Dandelion Green and Red Potato Salad– A lovely side dish for a springtime meal […]

    Reply
  • […] Dandelion and red potato salad from Straight from the Farm (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); Read more at Fresh Bites Daily! […]

    Reply
  • 10. Dandelion Benefits » Rath Auto Connect  |  July 15, 2015 at 2:44 pm

    […] Red Potato and Green Salad […]

    Reply
  • 11. Why We Eat Dandelions » Kala Rath Photography  |  July 15, 2015 at 3:21 pm

    […] Red Potato and Green Salad […]

    Reply
  • 12. Foraging Spring Edibles – slice of sunshine  |  May 19, 2016 at 7:05 am

    […] Dandelion Greens Potato Salad […]

    Reply
  • […] Dandelion Greens with Garlic Spring Green Pizza Dandelion and Potato Salad […]

    Reply
  • […] Dandelion Greens with Garlic Spring Green Pizza Dandelion and Potato Salad […]

    Reply
  • 15. Camilla Turco  |  September 26, 2020 at 2:11 pm

    Your blog is very helpful for folks at all like me who need useful tips. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 16. Kitty Robinson  |  February 12, 2022 at 11:11 am

    I made this for a garden party (so I doubled the amounts) and although I think it’s a solid foundation, I did make some minor adjustments- I greatly increased the amount of ricotta, and after some hesitation added a very small amount of mayo. I wouldn’t have done that if I was making this for dinner, but as a side at a party I felt like it needed a little more fat or oil or whatever savory mayo provides. I also added a dash of cayenne, and that addition I strongly recommend. The lemon added some great brightness, but I think the cayenne took it the rest of the way- not enough to be actually spicy (unless you like that I suppose!)

    Reply
  • […] Dandelion Greens with Garlic Spring Green Pizza Dandelion and Potato Salad […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll