Tangy Goodness

July 5, 2007 at 7:46 pm 4 comments

    sorrel-in-the-field.jpg    sorrel-leaves.jpg

Quiche is something I covet, particularly for brunch.  I personally enjoy it more cold, but any and all quiche is welcome to apply within (my mouth).   When D and I met, he was trying to go from vegetarian to vegan (since abandoned due to our mutual “interest” in ice cream).  Being eager to please in those first few months of dating, I gave a tofu quiche a whirl.   While I didn’t miss the eggs in the least, I did lament the absence of cheese.  So we compromised and now I have a “standard” tofu quiche recipe that I typically make with spinach. 

Now, if you’re scrunching up your nose at the idea of an eggless quiche, don’t despair.  I’m sure if you have a standard quiche recipe of your own (or care to do a quick search for one), you can easily use the flavor components of this recipe with an egg base instead.

quiche-filling.jpg

Sorrel has a lovely tangy/tart lemony flavor.  It’s often used in salads, soups, spinach and fish dishes.  Technically it’s both an herb and a salad green so it has dual value – taste and texture.  While sorrel’s flavor can be overwhelming if used in excess, when placed on the often-bland canvas of tofu, the tart bite works in its favor.   Paired with chevre (goat cheese), it accentuates the tang while masking some of the tart.   Sorrel was such a fine addition to my standard quiche recipe, I think I’ll be replacing the spinach with sorrel all summer long. 

quiche-ready-for-the-oven.jpg

One word to the wise about this recipe before we get started – if you don’t drain the blanched sorrel well and/or add too much milk to the tofu, the quiche might not set up as firmly as you’d like.  If this is the case, lower the heat in the oven to around 300 and cover the crust edges with foil to keep them from buring.  Bake for an additional 15 minutes than directed.  Quiche will also firm up more as it cools.  Hence my preference for chilled quiche. 

Sorrel and Chevre Eggless Quiche

30 leaves of sorrel, de-stemmed and cut into thin ribbons
3 large garlic cloves, finely minced
4 large scallions, thinly sliced
4 oz. chevre (goat cheese), room temperaturequiche-slice.jpg
1/2 c. sharp white cheddar cheese
1/4 c. parmesan cheese
1/4 c. finely chopped flat leaf parsley
12 oz. extra firm tofu, drained and roughly cubed
1/2 to 3/4 c. nonfat milk
1/2 t. salt (don’t skimp, trust me)
1/2 t. pepper
dash of freshly grated nutmeg
1 unbaked 9 inch deep dish pie crust

Preheat oven to 350 F and cover edges of pie cruse with tin foil.  Place pie crust in oven to lightly bake as you prepare ingredients. 

Bring a cup of water to boil and quickly blanch the sorrel, removing as soon as it wilts and darkens.  Place in strainer to remove as much liquid as possible.  Place sorrel in a medium bowl and mix in garlic, scallions, chevre, cheddar and parmesan. 

Remove pie crust from oven and take off foil from edges.  Allow to cool for a minute.

In a blender, combine tofu and 1/2 cup of milk.  Blend for a minute and then add salt and pepper and blend some more.  If mixture is not smooth, add more milk as necessary to create a smooth silky texture.  Combine tofu with sorrel and cheese.  Mix well before filling pie crust. 

Bake for 40-50 minutes or until set and golden brown on top.  Let stand 5-10 minutes before cutting.  Serve with slices of tomato.

(makes one quiche)

sorrel-chevre-tofu-quiche.jpg

Entry filed under: Recipes, Veggies w/ Protein.

Not for the Faint of Spicy Heart Oh So Pretty

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. radish  |  July 6, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    Hi there, thanks for your comments – i will definitely check it out – the oddest thing I am growing this summer – has got to be sorrell, though it’s not growing all that well and is having issues. But we are growing it and I am very excited. We had alpine strawberries for a few days, but didn’t adjust and just died :(.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  July 7, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    Radish – Sounds like you’re getting quite the diverse mix of crops in your little urban garden. Too bad the strawberries didn’t make it. I wonder if you can grow blueberries in a big pot… : )

    Reply
  • 3. The Jury’s Out « Straight from the Farm  |  November 26, 2007 at 1:14 pm

    […] Here’s the problem with this pie.  My starting point was a recipe on allrecipes.com that claimed to be a quiche but was more likely to be a sweet souffle judging from the ingredient list and the reviews.  I was looking for a side dish along to a small Thanksgiving gathering this past weekend so I didn’t really want something sweet.  And well, if I wanted a quiche, I have a very good recipe for that already.    […]

    Reply
  • 4. Green Goodness « Straight from the Farm  |  May 12, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    […] I’ll be getting another bunch of chrysanthemum next time I’m back over to the farm and I think I’ll try a stir-fry with it next time or maybe a quiche since that worked so well for sorrel. […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll