Some Favorites

December 13, 2007 at 2:10 pm 1 comment

Menu for Hope 

So I wanted to take a moment to do my blogger duty to promote a fabulous cause that rewards participants with blogger-made and/or blogger-provided goods and/or services.  Perhaps I’m being confusing?  Let me spell it out more clearly.

MENU FOR HOPE is an annual fundraising event in support of the UN World Food Programme and last year it raised over $60K.  In the event’s fourth year, food bloggers from all over the world join forces to host the Menu for Hope online raffle, offering an array of delectable culinary prizes.  For every US$10, the donor receives a virtual raffle ticket toward a prize of their choice.   You can have lunch with a famous foodie, tag along with your favorite blogger on a tour of their favorite markets and restaurants, or even receive a care package fashioned especially for you from your favorite bloggers themselves.  All you need is $10 and a bit of luck.  Visit organizing blog, Chez Pim, for the full run-down of all the available prizes in this cyber raffle drawing and the how-to for making a grab for the ones you want. 

Sadly, I didn’t get the memo in time to join the party as a prize contributor (but you can be darn sure I’ll be ready for next year).  I am definitely making the rounds as a bidder though and thought I’d share with you some of my favorites.  Now, if you don’t mind, promise not to put your bid in for the same stuff, m’k?  Just be sure to lay down your 10 smackeroos before next Friday!

The Amateur Gourmet is offering autographed copies of his book and dinner at Blue Hill Stone Barns, a placed I’ve always wanted  to visit.

Blog Appetit has put together a “I Wanna Be a Food Writer” book package I’d love to have for obvious reasons.

Darling Deb at Smitten Kitchen has promised to make a divine cookie care package for the winner of her prizes.  It’s not that I can’t bake a mean cookie myself.  It’s just that I sort have this crush on Deb and I like the idea of getting cookies from her…

Becks & Posh have kindly agreed to put together a custom English Afternoon Tea package.  If I’d gotten my act together sooner, I would have contributed my homemade herbal tea for the cause. 

Restaurant Widow is tempting me with Jeni’s Ice Cream, a treat I fell in love with when visiting Columbus last year.  Plus it’s nice have an ice cream chain named after me…

David from PhilaFoodie proved he knows his wines at the first Philadelphia Food Blogger’s Meet-Up.  He’s offering to pay for two classes at the Wine School of Philadelphia.  I could use the education.

Speaking of David(s) in Philly who love wine, David at McDuff’s Food and Wine Trail is kindly offering his sommelier services and free wine for a night.  Ooo, baby!

That should be enough to whet your appetite. 
What are you waiting for?  Get bidding!
 

 

Entry filed under: Extra Credit. Tags: , , .

Time to Eat! ’07 Holiday Gifts: Sweet Loaves

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. "get the facts"  |  October 12, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    “get the facts”

    “[…]v Some genuinely nice stuff on this internet site , I it. cp[…]”

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll