Week 3 of Bread: Herb Crackers

February 19, 2008 at 12:20 pm 29 comments

Artisan Herb Crackers 

I think I might have to officially declare today “Idiot Day”.  I can’t disclose the full details of why I’ve made this official declaration since it has to do with my professional life and apparently somewhere along the way someone coerced me into signing a document that said I wouldn’t blab on the internet anywhere about topics concerning my job.  I suppose this agreement is ultimately in my best interest too, so let’s just leave it at this: my day isn’t going so smoothly. 

Sheets of crackers out of the oven

But enough of that; my time is limited today.  Let’s move promptly along to a much more pleasant topic – making your own artisan crackers at home.  Crackers are, after all, a form of unleavened bread, so I thought I’d sneak them in here during our last Week of Bread together.  I got my inspiration from Rebecca over at New Old Fashioned Gal when she submitted the recipe to last week’s Carnival of Recipes: A Menu

Ball of doughDough rolled out to size of sheetPricking dough with a fork 

The possibilities of these crackers are endless, since you could very well use a limitless combination of seasonings and probably not have to make the same kind twice for a year if you really put your mind to it.  You could also get fancy with the edges and shapes, using special cutting wheels and cookie cutters.  I see my next batch as being round with wavy edges…

Dill, Black Pepper, Oregano

So I mulled over my choice of seasonings for quite a few days before making my first foray into cracker crafting.   I settled on giving priority to some of my dried herbs from the farm on this first go-around since they really are the best seasonings in my pantry – superb flavor and quality.  To keep the dill and oregano company, and mostly because I somehow think everything is better in three’s, I threw in coarse black pepper at the last moment.  Boy, did that pepper make them pop! 

Cracker close-up

I don’t think these would necessarily make good soup crackers – I mean, they might, but why bother smothering them in soup unless it’s rather bland and needs a cracker with seasoning.  My bag was quickly consumed by scooping up soft goat cheese and just plain snacking while I watched – gasp – the Knight Rider network movie on NBC Sunday night.  It didn’t take a genius to know that piece of entertainment wasn’t going to offer any Emmy-winning performances, but I was blissful in my viewing with my nostalgia and homemade crackers to keep me amused.  

Sadly, I’m now all out of crackers.  It’s comforting to know – especially on a day like today – that when armed with a nearly idiot-proof recipe like this , I can easily make some more.  What combination of seasonings do you think you’d like to try first?

Crackers in shadow frame

Artisan Herb Crackers
Adapted from A New Old-Fashioned Gal

2 ½ c. flour
3 t. dried herbs/seasonings*
1 t. salt
4 T. olive oil
¾ c. cold water
coarse salt for sprinkling on top

*I used dill, coarse cracked pepper, and oregano.  Other tasty combinations might include parmesan, basil, rosemary, sage, cumin, cayenne, garlic salt, and onion powder.
 
Preheat oven to 400 F.  Mix dry ingredients together in a medium bowl being sure to get everything well blended.  Add the oil and half of the water and begin mixing.  Add more water as necessary to form a rough dry dough.  Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead just until it comes together into a cohesive ball.

Divide dough into even quarters.  On a silicone mat or piece of parchment paper, roll dough as thin as possible until it’s nearly the size of a baking sheet.  Cut the dough into squares or other desired shape and use a fork to prick each square two or three times.  Sprinkle with course sea salt. 

Bake for 15 minutes, or until golden brown, turning the sheet once half way through.  While the first batch is baking, roll out another quarter of dough.  Let baked crackers cool before breaking apart.  Store in a ziplock bag. 

(makes about 5 cups of crackers)

Homemade artisan crackers

Entry filed under: Bread, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Week 3 of Bread: Saffron Basil Week 3 of Bread: Honey Multigrain

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lcsa99  |  February 19, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Those really look great. I can imagine having homemade crakers with a bowl of soup on one of these evil cold winter days 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. taylor  |  February 19, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Hmm…how about cheddar and red pepper flakes? Kinda like cheese nips with bite!

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa M  |  February 19, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    I’m a new reader…and I’m drooling already! This looks like a kid friendly recipe, too. I can see my boys learning how to make their own crackers. And you’re right about endless combinations…this is a great recipe!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  February 19, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Thanks, ladies, one and all! 🙂 But credit really goes to Rebecca over at New Old Fashioned Gal for getting the ball rolling. 🙂 I like the idea of cheddar and red pepper flakes! And I definitely think these would be easy for kids to make…the dough is very forgiving and easy to make. Enjoy!

    Reply
  • 5. josey  |  February 19, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Awesome! thanks for the recipe I have to try that. how long can you store them in ziploc bags?
    As for seasoning: how about sesame, flax and poppy seeds? french fried onions? sun-dried tomatoes?

    Reply
  • 6. charcuterista  |  February 19, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Beautiful crackers! I just did a post about an olive oil semolina cracker recipe I found this past week. The most sucessful seasoning I tried was a Balti seasoning mix from Penzeys, but I would bet any good curry powder or garam masala would be great…

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  February 19, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Josey – Considering that I ate these all up within three days, I’m not entirely sure how long they keep but I would imagine for at least a week and probably much longer than that. I love all your ideas for seasonings! Just be sure to chop everything up really small as the crackers are very thin and won’t hold anything terribly chunky.

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  February 19, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Charcuterista – Thanks! Penzeys spice mixes are great! I like the idea of using garam masala…might make that my next batch. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. shisymbolinternational  |  February 20, 2008 at 7:42 am

    I absolutely love the look of these crackers and my littlies are devourers of crackers at the best of times. I will definitely have a go at these shortly. I’ll keep you posted especially if I successfully achieve making them!!
    thanks
    Jan – http://www.shisymbol.com.au

    Reply
  • 10. Julia  |  February 24, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I made these with sesame seeds, poppy seed, and fresh ground pepper. I tried only using 3 tbsp oil, but that was a mistake because they came out tough, thick, and not crunchy. Once I get the recipe down I think I will be making these a lot 🙂 Maybe with the addition of garlic and onion for “everything bagel” crackers

    Reply
  • 11. Jennie  |  February 24, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Yes, Julia, the full amount of olive oil is necessary for the dough to get crispy in the oven. Glad you gave it a try and are determined to get it to make your great ideas work. 🙂 I love everything bagels!

    Reply
  • […] right but wanted to be sure you had it since they really were DEElicious. The recipe came from the Straight from the Farm blog and as you can see from the blog post under the link, the results were vastly different, but I […]

    Reply
  • […] Artisan Herb Crackers Source: Straight From the Farm […]

    Reply
  • […] Cinnamon Sugar Crackers Source: Straight From the Farm […]

    Reply
  • 15. Sally  |  July 3, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Just found this post and made these today with fresh rosemary and black pepper. Easy and great tasting – look like the very expensive ones! thanks!

    Reply
  • 16. shellei  |  July 16, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    I made these crackers for my kids- I added 2 cups of sharp cheddar, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and 1 tsp garlic powder. Then we cut them into 1 inch stars. They were a big hit! So much so that they wouldnt eat their sandwiches, just the ‘cheese stars.’

    Reply
  • 17. Caitlin  |  October 6, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    These are now my go-to cracker recipe, they’re absolutely awesome. I do tend to double the herbs though, and put in a hefty amount of black pepper since I like mine to have a kick to them. Every herb combo I’ve tried has been dynamite though.

    Reply
  • 18. Jennie  |  October 7, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Sally, Shellei, and Caitlin –

    So glad you all are enjoying this recipe so much! I love the ideas you each had for spicing them up with customized ingredients. 🙂

    Reply
  • 19. Denise L  |  September 27, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    I love making crackers. Made my 1st 15 or so yrs ago. They where a huge hit for Xmas gifts
    Seeing your recipe reminded to make some again.

    Reply
  • 20. Molly  |  October 12, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    I never knew crackers were this easy. I made them while making dinner. Love the cheese idea. I found you don’t need the parchment paper while baking.

    Reply
  • 21. feliz  |  June 9, 2010 at 7:46 am

    I decided to make it for my (Italien ) parents in law. Wish me luck

    Reply
  • 22. Alice  |  February 2, 2011 at 6:58 am

    These crackers looks amazing and have a great taste. This blog and the pictures give a nice idea about the final result.

    Reply
  • 23. Brenda Kelly  |  July 5, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Thank you for this recipe. They are so yummy and its fun to play with flavor variations. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 24. Hoteluri Bucuresti  |  September 30, 2011 at 3:32 am

    These crackers are looking really good. I will try your recipe for sure!

    Reply
  • 25. Evie in Lisburn  |  December 28, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Wow, these are amazing! I found they only needed 11 minutes at 190’c in my fan oven 🙂 and they definitely need to be pricked or else you end up with little pillows, albeit tasty ones…

    I’ve done sea salt and coarse ground black pepper; rosemary and sea salt; chilli flakes and sea salt & the suggested dill, oregano and black pepper. They are all gorgeous and it’s a good job I can’t eat too much salt otherwise they wouldn’t make it to their intended recipients in the hampers I’m giving out tomorrow!

    Reply
  • 26. semco energy gas rates  |  June 2, 2013 at 6:14 am

    Howdy! I simply want to give a huge thumbs up for the good info you have got right here on this post.
    I shall be coming again to your weblog for more soon.

    Reply
  • 27. seoul garden restaurant price list  |  June 5, 2013 at 3:40 am

    Hey! I simply wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the
    great information you have got right here
    on this post. I will probably be coming again to your weblog for more soon.

    Reply
  • 28. Firma Paza  |  March 13, 2015 at 11:14 am

    Great recipe! I’ll try it for sure, I think my kids will love it!

    Reply
  • 29. Samantha Jasmer  |  June 26, 2016 at 4:07 pm

    These turned out great. Can you freeze them? And how long are they good in the refrigerator for,

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll