Sexy Cenouras

September 8, 2008 at 3:07 pm 23 comments

Carrots in repose

All you lovely readers should be cursing my name.  Really, you should.  I mean, I greatly appreciate all your compliments, online and off (i.e., very cool meeting Stacey this weekend at the Headhouse market!), but you’d have a different selection of choice words for me if you knew the breadth and depth of the treasure trove of post drafts waiting in the wings to be published for your pleasure.  These drafts are full of sumptuous recipes and tummy-rumbling pictures. 

Fresh carrots

Problem is, there are only 24 hours in a day and I usually try to spend at least five of them sleeping.  Really, I’ve thought about giving up sleep altogether but it’s a dangerous proposition.  In any case, with all the bounty of my garden and the farm, I’ve been cooking like mad this past month, churning out at least 4 or 5 recipes in a weekend.  Unfortunately, in the effort to keep up with all the produce, I haven’t been able to keep up with the writing. 

Slices of carrot

Today I start the ticking off of the draft writing to-do list.  Starting off the festivities is this dreamy little recipe for carrots that my e-friend, Gintoino, sent me all the way from Portugal.  If you weren’t around for my raving about Portugal, I must insist you click here and here and here to read about this amazing country and its food. 

Floating colander

Cenouras de Conserva à Algarvia, which I’ve simplified, for better or worse, as Portuguese Carrot Salad, has become an unexpected favorite in the SFTF kitchen.  For starters, it keeps for ages, which is a huge plus since I’m currently leading two lives, one in Philly and one at Longwood Gardens, so I’m not always finishing up my leftovers in a timely manner (seriously, don’t look in the back of my fridge is you have a bad heart).  But even more importantly, the flavors are so sensual.  I had no idea carrots could be so sexy, but they are! 

Let’s all thank Gintoino for this particular precious jem and beg for more breezy and delicious Portuguese recipes!  Por favor?! 

Carrot salad up close

A quick note, if you’ll humor me, about the carrots themselves:  I grew these King Midas carrots in my garden as a spring planting (harvested mid-summer).  They are lovely to look at, straight and long.  However, I wasn’t so pleased with their flavor as I have been with varieties in the past.  I have a second planting in of Rainbow for a fall harvest and I’ll let you know how those compare.  In looking to buy carrots for the salad, try to get smaller sweeter ones if possible.   

“Cenouras de Conserva à Algarvia” :: Portuguese Carrot Salad
Submitted by reader Gintoino

4-5 large carrots
2 garlic clove
3 T. extra virgin olive oil
3 T. balsamic vinegar
1 t. fennel seeds
1 t. paprika
Salt and pepper
2 T. chopped fresh cilantro

Using a mandolin or sharp knife, thinly slice the carrots into coins. Place the carrots in small saucepan with an inch of water and steam over medium high heat for 5-8 minutes until tender, but not soft.  Drain the carrots and leave to cool for a few minutes.

Grate the garlic on a microplane or mince very finely.  Mix together in a small bowl with the vinegar, oil, fennel seeds, paprika, salt and pepper.  Toss the cooled carrots with the dressing and chopped cilantro.  Allow to marinade at least overnight.  Serve chilled or at room temperature.

(serves 4)

Portuguese Carrot Salad

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes, Salads. Tags: , , , .

Retro Lunch Meatless Cooking Done Right

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nif  |  September 8, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Carrots picked in fall or winter are sweeter than summer carrots. They’ve pulled all their reserves down into their roots for next year.

    Reply
  • 2. eggsonsunday  |  September 8, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Looks delicious! I have a bundle of carrots from our CSA share and can’t wait to try this with them. I, by the way, am in the same predicament you are (too much summer produce from the garden to get through on the weekend, not enough time to blog about everything!) Lately I’ve just been doing brain-dump posts with photos of various dishes and one recipe selected…not the greatest, but I tell myself it’s at least doing a little show-and-tell with what can be done with all the great summer vegetables around. –Amy

    Reply
  • 3. Christine  |  September 8, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    You know, I actually really liked your King Midas carrots. I agree that they weren’t that sweet, but they had a really intense carroty flavor. I ate them raw, but I’ll bet they would have been great roasted.

    Reply
  • 4. Stacey  |  September 8, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Happened upon your site through a friend. LOVING it. Loving all the great recipes. Thanks for being here!

    Reply
  • 5. gintoino  |  September 9, 2008 at 3:03 am

    WOW, I can’t tell you how glad I am to see a portuguese recipe in SFF 🙂
    And you made it just right jenny, they look like the ones my grand mother used to do. These carrots are very popular around here, and if you go to any traditional restaurant they will, most likely, be served as starters, together with some olives. My grand mother had a wonderful recipe for black olives…I must try and remember/find it.
    I haven’t commented much lately because, like you, I almost have no time for blogging, with all the vegetables to pick and (try to) preserve.

    Reply
  • 6. Ferns N Petals  |  September 9, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Got to your blog through the search engine (Google)… I must say you have put in a lot of effort…

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  September 9, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Nif – Yep, I realize the difference cool weather makes on the sweetness of carrots. However, it wasn’t so much about sweetness as flavor. However, apparently it’s just a personal preference because my friend Christine (comment #3) likes them that way. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  September 9, 2008 at 7:43 am

    EggsonSunday/Amy – Braindumps on the blog are tempting…I’m just not sure I even have time for that! 🙂 I’m so glad you have a CSA that’s filling your table with fresh local food! It feels like a bit of a hassel right now, dealing with all of it, but you’ll miss it just as much as me when the season is done. Eat up!

    Reply
  • 9. Jennie  |  September 9, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Christine – See, this is why you’re the brains of the operation and I’m just the, um, cooking brawn(?). I hadn’t even thought to roast the King Midas carrots yet. It’d be great for their flavor! You deserve another bunch of carrots. 🙂 Oh, and I realize I still owe you tomatoes…

    Reply
  • 10. Jennie  |  September 9, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Stacey and FernsnPetals – Welcome to both of you! So glad you found the site and hope you’ll visit regularly. And please share what’s in season and fresh near you!!

    Reply
  • 11. Jennie  |  September 9, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Gintoino – Woohoo! You saw the post! I was hoping I did it right. 🙂 Thanks again for the fantastic recipe. I saw on your blog that the garden is overflowing so I can understand why you are so busy! It looks wonderful – you do so much with your garden!

    Reply
  • 12. solsticekennels  |  September 10, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I love this blog, I’m so happy I found you. I’m going to a pot luck party at a dog show this weekend and this sounds like just the thing to take along.

    Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  • 13. Sharon J  |  September 11, 2008 at 5:18 am

    This sounds absolutely delicious. My daughter can eat carrots until they pop out of her ears so I’m always looking for new ways to prepare them. This one is definitately going to be tried sometime soon.

    Reply
  • 14. Tammy  |  September 28, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    I made this yesterday to rave reviews. The leftovers were even better today. Many thanks to you and your reader for sharing.

    Reply
  • 15. Sylvia  |  November 10, 2008 at 6:39 am

    Dear Jennie,

    This recipe looks great and I’m going to serve it alongside Portuguese Red Bean Soup and Portuguese Bread and cheeses. Just one question — do you prefer to use Hungarian Sweet paprika or smoky Spanish sweet paprika? Sylvia

    Reply
  • 16. Jennie  |  November 10, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    Sylvia – So glad to hear you’re going to make this dish! I used sweet paprika as that’s what I had on hand, but I bet the smoky would be wonderful too! Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Ramu  |  June 30, 2009 at 6:33 am

    I made this yesterday to rave reviews. The leftovers were even better today. Many thanks to you and your reader for sharing.

    Reply
  • 18. Punsons Flora  |  June 30, 2009 at 6:35 am

    Got to your blog through the search engine (Google)… I must say you have put in a lot of effort…
    but i love all the great recipes. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 19. Jet Konnect  |  October 28, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Salad is very useful for digestive system

    Reply
  • 20. APSRTC  |  October 28, 2009 at 12:24 am

    I love this blog.

    Reply
  • 21. Sojourn » Blog Archive » Now We’re Cookin’ With Fire  |  November 27, 2010 at 9:04 am

    […] dinner was stir-fried morning glory and carrot salad. It’s nice to eat vegetables again. Now I’m set up to rinse leafy greens and snack on […]

    Reply
  • 22. karl blore  |  August 13, 2011 at 4:24 am

    I did a load of your carrot salad mix, then vacuumed sealed them into portions, everytime I open a bag they taste better and better, by they way they will keep up to 2 yrs vacuum packed and then frozen or 6 months in a normal fridge.

    Reply
  • […] Adapted from a recipe from straightfromthefarm.net […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll