Feels Like Elementary School All Over Again

July 12, 2007 at 11:59 am 3 comments

Cathedral Pillars in Cordoba, Argentina

A little while back, my cyber pal Brooke “tagged” me for a “meme” (blogger bio-esque post).   I’m flattered and since I’m sans recipe today, it seemed a good time to honor Brooke’s meme request.  Bear with me if you tuned in for a recipe and not some ho-hum dribble about my personal life.  I promise a recipe again tomorrow!

The Rules
“I have been tagged to post 8 random facts. I have to post these rules before I give you the facts: Each participant posts eight random facts about themselves. Tagees should write a blogpost of eight random facts about themselves. At the end of the post, more bloggers are tagged. Go to their blog and leave a comment telling them they’re tagged.”

Tidbit #1
I’m an avid cyclist.  I commute to work every day on my bike and I love the fact that more and more people are doing the same.  My biggest biking accomplishment to date was a 7 day, 575 mile charity ride across Montana in 2001.

Tidbit #2
I travel a fair amount, mostly solo.  My favorite country I’ve visited so far was Iceland.  My most recent trip was to Argentina and Uruguay.  And my favorite spot in the world is a little outcrop on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon.

Tidbit #3
I grew up on a dairy farm in rural central Pennsylvania and draw my appreciation for hard work and fresh food from that upbringing.  There’s a grove of old black walnut trees there, standing on the side of a hill, which I plan to use to shade the house I’ll build someday.

Tidbit #4
I’m obsessed with checking weather reports.  This habit can be attributed to tidbit #1 and tidbit #3.

Tidbit #5
If I had $10,000 to spare, I’d buy a new bike and some professional photography equipment.  Then I’d go to Portugal to use them both.

Tidbit #6
I wanted to be a vet when I grew up.  Instead I got degrees in world literature, communications, marketing and management.  Sometimes I wish I had stuck with my original plan.

Tidbit #7
I drink a lot of tea.

Tidbit #8
I’ve taken several belly dancing classes and made my own costume, jingly coins and all.

Tidbit #9  
Just joking… that’s all folks!  Now go visit these great blogs to learn more about 1.) eating local and/or 2.) exploring Philadelphia:

Cricket Bread

Urban Vegan

Mac and Cheese

FarmGirl Fare

Restaurant Widow

Pesky’ Apostrophe

Entry filed under: Extra Credit.

Get ‘Em While They’re Fresh Soothing Hearts

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  July 12, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Thanks for the link. Gimme a little while on that meme. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Trace  |  July 17, 2007 at 7:52 am

    I’ll have mine up today!

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  July 17, 2007 at 8:04 am

    Trace, I’m heading over there now to read it…

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll