Regemented and Then Some

August 7, 2007 at 10:11 am 8 comments

Heirloom tomatoes on the vine 

6:02 a.m.* – Alarm goes off
6:03 a.m. – Cat head butts me until I surface into consciousness
6:05 a.m. – Brush teeth and other bathroom activities
6:07 a.m. – Turn on tub facet for cat to drink to avoid constant sharp meowing
6:08 a.m. – Dress in spandex for the bike ride to work
6:09 a.m. – Stumble downstairs, cringe at the bright kitchen light, turn on stove
6:10 a.m. – Get out carton of “better ‘n” eggs, pour into skillet, stir & season
6:13 a.m. – Wolf down entirely too hot of an omelet
6:15 a.m. – Gulp water and swallow daily vitamin and allergy meds
6:16 a.m. – Grab shoes, put on remaining bike gear and open front door
6:17 a.m. – Shove cat away as she tries to make a run for the great outdoors
6:18 a.m. – Hop on bike and pedal away

*Due to my inability to recognize, or rather denial of, time before 6 a.m., my clock is set 10 minutes fast so 6:02 a.m. is really 5:52 a.m.  It helps me maintain my sanity while driving D nuts.  It’s a fabulous quirk of mine.

Ready for dicing and mincing

Now that you know everything that I do within the 16 minute span that starts every single one of my weekdays, let me tell you how I’m now saving 150 seconds each day!  Exciting, yes?  No?  Well, since I’m so stingy with my prep time in the mornings, 150 seconds less is exciting to me

Eggy Goodness

Instead of firing up the stove and making my omelet, I’m baking mini omelets in the oven Sundays and then popping them in the microwave for 30 seconds each morning.  Oh, how the mighty fall.  Just six months ago I would have sworn that the microwave is evil and good food can only be had from the heat of a gas stove.  Alas, I have to confess these little eggy fast fill ‘er-uppers are almost better reheated out of the microwave.

Grated Zucchini

And with this method, I can make fancier versions of my old standby of eggs, S & P, slice of cheese, and old bay seasoning (don’t ask).  Now I throw in tomatoes, zucchini, peppers, onion, spinach, and so much more.  Ladies and gentleman, it’s a whole new (morning) world for me.  Not to mention they’re so “to go”, I can eat the last one as I shove the cat out of the doorway.  I guess that means I save about 156 seconds all told.  But who’s counting?  Not little ol’ OCD me! 

Ladeling the egg mixture

These would also make fantastic appetizers for a party.  The fresh herbs and other ingredients really make them pop so don’t take too many shortcuts, especially since they’re so quick to make anyway.  The 37 seconds it takes to mince up the basil is time well spent.

Omelets puffing up in the oven

Fresh and Fast Mini Omelets
Technique inspired by Everyday Italian

6 eggs or egg substitute
1/2 c. milk
2 t. salt
1 t. pepper
3/4 c. shredded cheese such as sharp cheddar, mozzarella, or colby jack
1 small zucchini, shredded
2 medium tomatoes, diced
1 t. each of finely minced basil, tarragon, and oregano

Preheat oven to 350 and spray muffin tin with cooking spray.

Beat eggs in medium bowl.  Add milk and salt and pepper.  Beat with fork until combined.  Add remaining ingredients and mix well. 

Ladel egg mixture into muffin tins, filling a little over 3/4 full.  Carefully slide tin into oven and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until omelets are golden brown on the edges but still pale in the center.  Omelets will puff up considerably in the oven but will deflate soon after being taken out of the heat. 

Allow to cool for a minute or two before removing from tin.  Serve immediately or let cool completely before wrapping in plastic wrap to store in the refrigerator.  Reheat in microwave on high for 30-40 seconds.

(makes 12 mini omelets, about 3 breakfast servings)

Fresh and Fast Mini Omelets

Entry filed under: Recipes, Veggies w/ Protein.

Changing Course Mid-Stream Noodling a New Idea

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  August 7, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Brilliant! It’s like a mini frittata. (My cat has me trained to turn on the faucet, too.)

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  August 7, 2007 at 11:52 am

    It is indeed! In fact, I think I should change the recipe name to Fresh and Fast Frittata! Brilliant!

    Reply
  • 3. Trace  |  August 8, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    I know what I’m making tomorrow night!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  August 9, 2007 at 6:10 am

    Yo Trace! Thanks for the comment as it reminded me I hadn’t been over to Cricket Bread in a few days to see what’s going on. 🙂 Bet you’ve been cooking up something creative and tastey.

    Reply
  • 5. figswithbri  |  September 23, 2007 at 12:43 am

    I love to make these mini fritattas. They are one of my staple meals. So great for on the go portable bites, and perfect for brunch for a crowd. Plus, they work fabulously with just about any veggies year rounds. Truly a versatile seasonal dish.

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  September 23, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    Couldn’t have said it better myself, Figswithbri! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Jan  |  January 2, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    This is a brilliant idea! And I’m also an Old Bay fan. No shame in it. You can take the girl out of Baltimore, but gosh darn it, Old Bay will always have a place in my kitchen.

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  January 2, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    That’s too funny, Jan! I’m glad you like the mini frittata idea. Give them an extra dash of Old Bay for me when you make them. 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll