Beauty Bounty

June 26, 2008 at 4:00 pm 9 comments

I haven’t been cooking much due to being sick.  But I have finally had time to edit some beautiful snap shots I’ve taken while touring some gardens.  I thought I’d share them with you while I come up with some new creative dishes in the kitchen.

Chicory

A beautiful variety of chicory that reminds me of black pearls

saracinia

Pitcher plants are fascinating to me

greenhouse full

Here’s a whole greenhouse full of pitcher plants!

white rose

Peak rose season is just starting to pass us by…

purple rose

…The best rose is the kind that smells like cheap perfume – heady and sweet…

smell me

…Have you stopped to smell a rose today?

Entry filed under: In The Garden. Tags: , , .

One Last Idea A Vanilla Rose

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  June 26, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    I had no idea chickory was so pretty!

    Reply
  • 2. gintoino  |  June 27, 2008 at 2:45 am

    Beautiful picture, that first one! My chicories didn’t look nothing like that 😦

    Reply
  • 3. eggsonsunday  |  June 27, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Oh, my goodness! The chicory! Just gorgeous. I would love to grow that next year; do you happen to know what the variety was?

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  June 27, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I see I’m not the only fan of that chicory. The variety is ‘Fiero’ and seeds seem to be available here: http://www.johnnyseeds.com/catalog/product.aspx?category=1&subcategory=470&item=2278 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Christine  |  June 27, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Beautiful shots. I love the white rose. So sorry to hear you’ve been sick — hope you are finally feeling better!

    Reply
  • 6. VegeYum Ganga  |  June 28, 2008 at 3:01 am

    As always, Jen, the photos are so so beautiful. You have the knack of making the ordinary beautiful.

    Reply
  • 7. JennDZ_The LeftoverQueen  |  June 29, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Those are so beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing. It is always nice to stop and smell the roses – even if it is virtual!

    Reply
  • 8. bee  |  June 30, 2008 at 10:00 am

    those are spectacular pics.

    Reply
  • 9. Punsons flora  |  July 6, 2009 at 3:33 am

    Pitcher plants are found in fairly nutrient-poor areas and have developed their carnivorous lifestyle as a way of supplementing their diet.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll