Criminal

July 19, 2008 at 2:58 pm 19 comments

Green beans

Fresh string beans have literally started pouring into my door.  I planted only eight bush beans in my vegetable plot, but they’re exuberant in their production.  As such, I’m now scrambling to find interesting ways to prepare them (besides steamed or sautéed).  I went the not-so-healthy-route to kick off the bean season. 

Beans in basket

No, that is not a basket of French fries in the picture above.  It’s a basket of beer-battered (yes, BEER battered) string beans.  No doubt, it’s criminal to turn such a nutritious vegetable into a fried snack food, but I loved ‘em!  Seriously, these were ridiculously addictive, especially with an extra sprinkle of course sea salt on them.  If I’d thought of it before inhaling nearly the whole basket, I would have even tried them with my favorite French fry condiment: vinegar!  I bet that’d send them over the top. 

Beans in batter

As it was, I just heated up a little bit of marinara sauce to dip them in, although the original recipe (taken from a faded undated newspaper clipping) offered directions for making a special dip for on the side.  Me, I like to eat my beer-battered string beans while they’re piping hot so I couldn’t be bothered with spending time on the dipping sauce. 

Beer

Now that I’ve got the junk food bug out of my system (seriously, is there any healthful salvation in this dish since it did get me to eat two big handfuls of beans?), who’s got a good idea for using up a surplus of beans?  I don’t have enough yet to consider canning, so something fresh and interesting would be appreciated.  I know I’m the one that’s suppose to give YOU ideas on this site, but I’m lacking inspiration and hoping you’re holding some.  Yes? 

Beer Battered String Beans 

Beer-Battered String Beans
Taken from clipping out of the Philadelphia Inquirer

1 lb. fresh string beans
1 C. beer (lager works well)
1 t. salt
1 T. lemon juice
1 C. all-purpose flour
Vegetable oil for deep frying (about 2 cups)
Tomato sauce for dipping (optional)

Trim and discard tips of beans.  In a bowl, whisk the beer, salt and lemon juice into the flour until smooth but still foamy.  Dredge the beans in the batter. 

In a large deep skillet, heat oil until it sizzles when a bit of batter is dropped into it.  Fish out the beans from the batter, shaking off excess, and fry about 10 at a time.  Cook until golden brown, flipping the beans over with tongs.  Repeat to cook all of the beans. 

Drain on a paper towel and sprinkle with additional salt if desired.  If using, heat the tomato sauce and serve on the side with the beans. 

(serves 4-6)

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

A Slice of Heaven Tour Heats Up

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. meteorito  |  July 19, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    How about baking string beans? Try them on a cookie sheet with olive oil, rosemary, whole cloves of garlic and thinly sliced red onions in a hot oven for about 20-30 minutes. When they come out you can optionally toss them in a couple of tablespoons of balsamic vinegar. Or add lightly steamed string beans to a four bean salad (with chickpeas, kidney beans, black beans or whatever), little cubes of cheese, celery, red pepper, herbs, etc, etc.

    Reply
  • 2. De in D.C.  |  July 19, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    One of my favorite recipes that uses string beans comes from Tigers and Strawberries. and is a Thai basil dish. I don’t know if you’d eat fish sauce though, and think the dish would lack something without it. (The recipe does call for chicken, but that is easily omitted.)

    http://www.tigersandstrawberries.com/2005/02/02/thai-basil/

    I also like to steam the beans, then toss them with some garlic (lots, like half a head for two people) and wilted herbs that I sautéed in butter. I tend to use what’s on hand, but basil, oregano and parsley are very nice.

    Reply
  • 3. heather  |  July 19, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Oh, my! I am sorry to say that I don’t have any original ideas for sharing. But! I’m going to be making this little treat very soon.

    I just found your blog through a friend’s links and I like it very much. I’m working on a local eating challenge, and I love to grow food and go to the farmer’s market in my town, so your blog provides the perfect addition to my local summer food enjoyment.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 4. Sue  |  July 19, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    If you’re getting all the beans that you care to eat fresh, you can blanche them and freeze them.

    My favorite way to eat them is steamed just a bit, but I know that gets boring for some people!

    Reply
  • 5. Mags  |  July 20, 2008 at 10:30 am

    I roast them with onions, mushrooms, julienned carrots…. olive oil, salt, pepper. After I take them out of the oven I toss them with a little bit of balsamic vinegar. Yumm….carmelized a bit, and ohhh so sweet! I love your blog!

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  July 20, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Wow! You all are really coming up with some great ideas! I can’t wait to give it a shot. I’ll have to get a little creative with your suggestion though, De in D.C., as I don’t use fish sauce. That’s okay though, it’s fun to have an idea and then toy with it a little.

    Welcome to Heather and Mags! I’m so glad you found the blog and are enjoying it. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. LauraJ  |  July 20, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    There is a recipe in “Moosewood Cooks at Home” for a wonderful and simple green bean salad. Blanch or roast the beans then toss them with balsamic, olive oil and toasted pine nuts. There might be some scallions in there too but it’s really the pine nuts that make the dish, imho!

    Reply
  • 8. Christine  |  July 20, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    I actually love to eat them raw as a snack, but that does get old after a week or so!

    My mom makes “dilly beans” which are pickled. If you’re making a batch of cucumber pickles, you can just pack an extra jar with beans and use the same brine, some fresh dill, and maybe a few red pepper flakes. If you aren’t making a whole batch, you can make a jar at a time of refrigerator pickles (cucumber or beans). Just reduce your brine recipe for however many jars you can fill.

    Reply
  • 9. Erin  |  July 20, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Fabulous! Thank you so much for the recipe. A girlfriend forcibly made me try these at TGI Fridays during a work lunch one day and I fell completely in love.

    As for additional green bean recipes…I grew up on the following casserole:

    Saute a pound of ground hamburger with salt, pepper, chopped onions, and garlic. Stir in a can of tomato soup, spread on a layer of cooked green beans, and top with garlic mashed potatoes. If this freaks you out, I promise I make much nicer things on my site.

    Reply
  • 10. PaniniKathy  |  July 20, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Oooh…I would have totally eaten my green beans as a kid if my mom had turned them into fries!!

    Reply
  • 11. sara  |  July 20, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Mmm, this looks amazing and I will have to try it…I love this green bean-tofu main dish recipe…Thai Green Beans and Tofu with Coconut Rice. Here’s the link to when I made it on my blog:

    http://cupcakemuffin.blogspot.com/2008/06/thai-green-beans-and-tofu-
    with-coconut.html

    Reply
  • 12. _ts from [eatingclub]vancouver  |  July 20, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Ooooh. [droooooool]

    Reply
  • 13. John Feeney  |  July 21, 2008 at 9:52 am

    This year’s crop of String Beans is showing signs of more than anticipated.

    You get to enjoy the hard-work when you see the price increasing at the local supermarket…..

    We quick-fry a lot in a wok. Some olive oil, garlic and then at times some Wisconsin cheese melted over the top.

    Reply
  • 14. Maggie  |  July 23, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Those would be killer with malt vinegar on them. One of my favorite foods is green beans and sauteed mushrooms. I do a version with shitakes, a little chilis and a splash of soy but butter sauteed button mushrooms are great too.

    Reply
  • 15. An Honest Recipe « Straight from the Farm  |  July 29, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    […] recipe is a good bit healthier than my crazy beer-battered string beans.  And, truth be told, it’s not terribly creative as I’m sure you’ve all had some form of […]

    Reply
  • 16. Tina  |  August 1, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    LOVE your blog! I hope it’s okay if I add you to my blogroll. 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Holly  |  September 16, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    ok.. delayed reaction… but i finally got around to making these the other night for my husband (who loves green beans). they were SO GOOD!! I never thought such a simple batter could taste so yummy. 🙂 and by the way, i did serve them with the vinegar on the side and it was awesome. thanks for the great recipe. simple and impressive!

    Reply
  • 18. chickensense » Blog Archive » Ode to Green Beans  |  May 27, 2009 at 1:18 am

    […] and photo from straightfromthefarm.net) Subscribe to the comments for this post?Email this to a friend?Stumble upon something good? Share […]

    Reply
  • 19. Top 10 Recipes for National French Fry Day | Yummly  |  July 13, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    […] Beer Battered Green Bean Fries (from Straight from the Farm) […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll