Corn Out the Ears

September 1, 2008 at 6:35 pm 5 comments

Ears of corn in basket

You know what I love best about blogging?  That you can do it from anywhere there’s an internet connection.  So, guess where I’m typing this post from right now?  A lawn chair on the porch of my parents’ farmhouse, overlooking a field and barn slowly going out of focus in the soft purple and orange hues of summer’s last twilight to the chorus of soft moos from the milk cows.  I promise you, search far and wide if you must, but there is no more peaceful place than this.

Corn kernels

Now that you know my location, try to guess what I did all day?  Oh, come on, humor me with my little guessing game.  Nope, I did not milk any cows.  Yes, I did hold one adorably cute baby niece, but that was only for a few minutes.  The vast majority of my day was spent husking and cleaning fresh sweet corn out of the field beside the house.  There were about a dozen to do.  No, not a dozen ears, but rather a dozen bushels!!   I was helping my mom blanch and freeze all of it for winter. 

Corn with mustard

So you’ll have to forgive me if I have corn on my brain.  I know I just posted a corn recipe last time, but there really doesn’t seem to be a choice for today’s featured ingredient after husking so many ears of the stuff.  Corn with Mustard Seeds is a fantastic way to spice up your standard corn side dish.  The heat of the mustard juxtaposes perfectly with the sweetness of the corn.  Add a generous dash of coarse salt, and you have the trifecta of flavor: spicy, sweet, and salty. 

Spicy corn kernels

I have to take a moment here to once again proclaim my love for the cookbook, 5 Spices, 50 Dishes.  Ruta Kahate, the author, put together such a flavorful mix of surprisingly easy Indian dishes that I keep coming back to her recipes before bothering to check anywhere else.  At this rate, I might get all 50 of her recipes up on this site.  To date, we’ve got the following in the archives in addition to today’s corn:

Rutabaga with Ginger and Lemon
Sautéed Beets with Lemon and Mustard
Butternut Squash and Green Bean Curry

Railway Potatoes

 

Corn with Mustard Seeds
Taken from 5 Spices, 50 Dishes

5 ears of fresh corn
3 T. canola or vegetable oil
1 t. mustard seeds
1 small Serrano chile pepper, sliced thinly into rounds
¼ t. ground turmeric
Salt
1 T. chopped fresh cilantro

Slice the corn kernels off the cobs to have approximately four cups.  Set aside.

Heat the oil in a medium skillet over high heat.  When the oil begins to smoke and shimmer, add the mustard seeds, immediately covering the pan with a lid.  When the seeds have stopped popping, add the chopped pepper and stir until golden brown. 

Lower the heat to medium and add the turmeric, stir, and then add the corn.  Toss and season to taste with salt.  Turn the heat to low, cover, and cook the corn until tender, about five minutes. 

Stir in the cilantro and serve warm or at room temperature.

(serves 4)

More corn

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Fall Prelude Retro Lunch

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. grace  |  September 2, 2008 at 11:57 am

    i’ve eaten a lot of corn in my day, but never any quite like this! i’m intrigued, and how fortunate that i was given about 15 ears of sweet corn the other day. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jocelynn  |  September 3, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    We live between two fields that are turned over every-other-year with either soy beans or corn. This year it was corn and we were so, so excited about it- and when I finally ran up to check out how the corn was doing- it turned out it was only feed corn (the small kerneled, multicolored ears).. sigh..

    Reply
  • 3. doghillkitchen  |  September 8, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Both the dish and the cookbook sound great. I’ve been caramelizing onions and then tossing them with corn cut off the cob and a little cayenne. This sounds like a good switch.

    Reply
  • 4. Deborah  |  September 8, 2008 at 11:36 am

    I’m so sad that I haven’t had as much corn this summer as I would like, but this is making me want to get some today adn eat this tonight!

    Reply
  • 5. "mer om ämnet på"  |  October 13, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    “mer om ämnet på”

    “[…]d Terrific post, plenty of really good data. I want to show my pal and get th p7[…]”

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll