Exotic Concoction

March 28, 2008 at 10:55 am 17 comments

Spiced Green Tea and White Chocolate Ice Cream

Ooo-la-la!  This is going to be a very pretty post.  The color of this Spiced Green Tea and White Chocolate Ice Cream was shockingly vivid and kicked in my photographer’s spidey sense big time.   I could fill a book with all the colorful photos I took. But, we’re not here just to look at pictures (okay, I admit, sometimes that’s all I do on the blogs I visit).  No sir, we’re here to talk about making green tea (or matcha) ice cream. 

Matcha powder and vanilla bean
I entered this photo in Click! July 2008

This is no sissy recipe.  It’s got a lot of ingredients, and there’s some time investment too with all the constant stirring required.  But, please, trust me…trust me when I say it’s so very worth the effort!  I’ve been eyeballing green tea ice cream recipes for years now… yes, years. This recipe is the first I’ve undertaken for a couple reasons.  For one, matcha powder can be a little tricky to find.  I got mine recently at a great Asian supermarket in North Wales, PA. 

Matcha powder packaging

Second, anything fun that I make these days, I’m always looking for a way to make it “blog eligible” by incorporating an ingredient straight from the farm.  With my matcha powder in hand, I then acquired a gallon of fresh whole cow’s milk from my parents’ Holstein herd on a recent trip home.  Unpasteurized milk straight from the udder is so rich and creamy that I actually skipped the heavy cream called for in the recipe and just used all whole milk.  I kept the cream in the recipe below though as I doubt many of you have access to unpasteurized milk, given all the federal regulations on it. 

White chocolate squares

Third, and most importantly, I abstained from making my own green tea ice cream for so long because I have such a fond taste memory associated with it.  When I first moved to Philadelphia several years back, I worked for a great company with a great set of coworkers who took long group lunches, often ending with a trip to the ice cream shop, Alaska, which used to be at the corner of 18th and Sansom Streets.  Besides having the most hysterical giant moose on their exterior sign, we loved going to this old-fashioned scoop shop for the unique flavors they carried, one of which was the most delicate and creamy green tea ice cream you can possibly imagine.  I always got it, even when I swore I wouldn’t.  Its sirens song and pale green hue always lured me in.  Since Alaska’s closing, I’ve had such a hankering for that ice cream.  But I was, frankly, a little intimidated that the green tea ice cream I would make myself just wouldn’t be right. 

Milk and Eggs

And you know what?  It wasn’t a perfect match to that taste memory I had, but that was more and more okay with each bite that melted on my tongue.  Following the original recipe, I put in two tablespoons of matcha powder, making for an intense green tea flavor with just hints of vanilla and nutmeg behind it.  The white chocolate seemed to disappear a bit behind the green tea, although I’m sure it was lending its sweetness.  Still, it was delicious!  AND so very vibrant visually! With that being said, I’ve tweaked the recipe a bit to present to you with the modifications I plan to use to make my next batch…tomorrow. 

White chocolate drizzled in custard

                                           A little less matcha,
                                                A little more spice,
                                                     I think it’ll be extra nice!

Close up of green tea ice cream

Spiced Green Tea & White Chocolate Ice Cream
Adapted from Tartlette via Steamy Kitchen via Kuidaore

1 c. heavy cream
2 c. whole milk
1/8 t.  fine salt
1 vanilla bean
1/8 t. freshly grated nutmeg
1/2 c. superfine sugar
4 large egg yolks
1 T.  matcha powder, sifted*
8 oz. white chocolate, finely chopped

*One tablespoon of matcha powder makes a relatively mild green tea ice cream.  However, if you really enjoy the grassy flavor of green tea, you can add as much as 2 tablespoons of powder and still get a creamy ice cream. 

In a medium heavy saucepan, bring the cream, milk, vanilla beans/pod, nutmeg, sugar and salt to low boil, stirring constantly. Sit aside to infuse.  After 10 minutes, fish out the vanilla pod pieces with a slotted spoon.

Meanwhile, whisk the eggs until they become noticably paler yellow.  Pour the warm cream mixture in a thin steady stream into the bowl of eggs, whisking continously while pouring. Return the cream and egg mixture to the saucepan.

egg yolks custard coating spoon

Cook over low heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, just until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of it, about 5 minutes. Do not let it boil. Remove from the heat, add the shifted matcha powder and stir well with a whisk.

Place the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl and heat for 30 second intervals until melted, stirring between intervals. Add the chocolate to the custard and whisk to combine.  Cool the cream to room temperature in an cold water bath, cover with a layer of plastic wrap and refrigerate until completely cold.

Freeze according to instructions for your ice cream machine.

(makes about 1 quart) 

Scoops of green tea ice cream

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , , .

Zen in the Kitchen Old to You, New to Me

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bee  |  March 28, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    wicked. and that glass of milk has ‘CLICK’ written all over it.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  March 28, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Bee – That’s creepy…you just read my mind to a tee! I got your email a few minutes ago and instantly thought the glass of milk shot would be *perfect* for the April Click! Event. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Hillary  |  March 28, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Gorgeous color and gorgeous photos! I love these flavors together which means I would LOVE this ice cream.

    Reply
  • 4. maria~  |  March 28, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    oh, that looks so delicious! i myself am a green tea fanatic, so you can count on me trying your recipe!

    Reply
  • 5. AppetiteforChina  |  March 28, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Yikes, that looks so amazing. I wish I had an ice cream machine!

    Reply
  • 6. SteamyKitchen  |  March 28, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    love the colors ~ thanks for trying recipe.!

    Reply
  • 7. brilynn  |  March 28, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    I’ve made this too, I added raspberries to mine, it was awesome!

    Reply
  • 8. Greg  |  March 29, 2008 at 12:47 am

    I’ve always loved green tea ice cream, or basically anything green tea. But adding chocolate to the taste – it sounds simple enough but never thought about it! Looks great!

    Reply
  • 9. eggsonsunday  |  March 29, 2008 at 6:39 am

    The color is just gorgeous, and I’m sure it tasted delicious, too! I’ve been meaning to try making green tea ice cream for some time, so I may be coming back to your recipe! 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Christine  |  March 31, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Bright, colorful and delicious! Love the pics!

    Reply
  • 11. Kevin  |  March 31, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    That looks good. I made a white chocolate and green tea ice cream a while ago. Adding spices to it sounds like a good idea.

    Reply
  • 12. sophie c  |  April 7, 2008 at 11:51 am

    What a creative recipe! My husband is a green tea addict; he’d love this idea! Thanks for sharing…love your blog, I’m a fan :).

    Reply
  • 13. Claudia (cook eat FRET)  |  April 28, 2008 at 11:26 am

    that right there is some very serious and amazing looking ice cream

    Reply
  • 14. ApK  |  May 27, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    you’re right – this is an amazing post for pictures! the recipe isn’t too shabby either 😉

    Reply
  • 15. Jennie  |  May 28, 2008 at 5:56 am

    Thanks, ApK! 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. jugalbandi » CLICK: Coffee and Tea. The winners are …  |  August 6, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    […] Punch of Green (Tea) ~ Straight from the Farm […]

    Reply
  • 17. pshuai920  |  July 12, 2011 at 2:00 am

    The hd picture, very beautiful//

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you\'ll never miss a great recipe!

Join 457 other subscribers

Favorite Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll